David Toop ‎– Hot Pants Idol

Barooni ‎– bar 020
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Short Circuit
Music By – Bill LaswellWritten By – Toop/LaswellWritten-By – Laswell*, Toop*
2 The Vending Machines
Composed By [Music Composed By], Recorded By, Electronics – Paul SchützeDouble Bass – Andy KremerFlute [Flutes] – Clive BellWritten By – Toop/SchützeWritten-By – Toop*, Schütze*
3 Wing Beats
Guitar [Wah-guitar], Flute [Alto Flute] – David ToopMusic By [Music With] – Spirit WorldMusic By, Trumpet, Effects [Harmonizer] – Jon HassellPercussion, Loops [Sample Loops] – Peter LockettSounds [Sound Sculptures] – Max EastleyWritten By – Toop/Hassell/Lockett/EastleyWritten-By – Toop*, Hassell*, Eastley*, Lockett*
4 White Powder / The Spiders
Bullroarer [Bullroarers] – Rob CruickshankComposed By [Music Composed By], Sho [Shô], Computer [Computer Performed By] – Sarah PeeblesEngineer [Recording Assistance] – Ferenc Szabo, Goto OsamuRecorded By [Shô Recording By], Edited By [Music Editing By] – Lawrence StevensonReeds – Sakaguchi HirotoshiWritten By – Toop/PeeblesWritten-By – Toop*, Peebles*
5 Ink Of The Ants
Guitar, Engineer [Engineered By] – Mike FearonKeyboards – Jonny TomlinsonMixed By – Mike Fearon, Russell MillsMusic By – Russell Mills/Undark*Producer [Produced By], Sampler [Samples], Electronics [Sonics] – Russell MillsWritten By – Toop/MillsWritten-By – Toop*, Mills*
6 Immersion Gallery
Composed By [Music Composed By], Performer [Performed By], Producer [Produced By] – Daniel PembertonRecorded By [Recordings Of Antarctic Weddell Seals By] – Douglas QuinVocals [Vocal By] – Jessica PembertonWritten By – Toop/PembertonWritten-By – Pemberton*, Toop*
7 Crimson Hood
Music By – ScannerWritten By – Toop/Robin RimbaudWritten-By – Toop*, Robin Rimbaud
8 The Ten Commandments
Composed By [Music Composed By], Performer [Reproduced By] – John OswaldWritten By – Toop/OswaldWritten-By – Toop*, Oswald*
9 A Cartographic Anomaly
Composed By [Music Composed By] – John RoomeProducer [Produced By] – WitchmanWritten By – Toop/RoomeWritten-By – Toop*, Roome*
10 The Long Sleep
Composed By [Music Composed By], Performer [Performed By], Loops [Pre-recorded Tape Loops], Turntables [Records], Synthesizer [Kurzweil], Effects – Tom RecchionWritten By – Toop/RecchionWritten-By – Toop*, Recchion*
11 Neo-Noir
Composed By [Music Composed By] – Amelia Cuni, Werner DurandDrone [Drones], Loops [Loops Using Amelia's Voice Exclusively] – W. Durand*Engineer – G. Ess Zeitblom*Mixed By – A. Cuni*, W. Durand*, G. Ess Zeitblom*Recorded By [Dhrupad Singing] – Werner DurandVocals [Dhrupad Singing By] – A. Cuni*Written By – Toop/Cuni/DurandWritten-By – Cuni*, Toop*, Durand*
12 Pink Fluffy Cubicle On Mercurius Port
Composed By [Music Composed By], Performer [Performed By] – Talvin SinghWritten By – Toop/SinghWritten-By – Toop*, Singh*
13 Dream Fluid Laboratory
Composed By [Music Composed By], Performer [Performed By] – Rhys ChathamWritten By – Toop/ChathamWritten-By – Toop*, Chatham*
14 Art Of Ruins
Composed By [Music Composed By], Performer [Performed By] – SlipperWritten By – Toop/Sam GitaWritten-By – Toop*, Sam Gita*

Companies, etc.


  • Executive-ProducerRoland Spekle
  • Recorded By [Voice Recording By], Edited By [Digital Edits By], Mastered By [Mastering By]Dave Hunt
  • Sleeve [Sleeve Concept]Taluut (Hans Althuis)*
  • Words By [Stories], Compiled By [Music Compilation], Read By [Readings By], Producer [Produced By], Liner Notes [19th April 1999]David Toop


Short Circuit - published Quartz Publications (PRS / MCPS) / Songs Of Polygram Int., BMI 1999
Music created at Orange Music, West Orange, New Jersey

The Vending Machines - published Quartz / copyright control 1999
Music composed and recorded at The Surgery

Wing Beats - published Quartz / Opal Music / Nyen for N. America / copyright control 1999

White Powder / The Spiders - published Quartz / Peebles (ASCAP for world, SOCAN for Canada) 1999
Many thanks to Lawrence Stevenson, Robin Aube and Grant Avenue Studio, Rob Cruickshank (pyrotechnics and bullroarers), Ferenc Szabo and Goto Osamu (recording assistance) and Sakaguchi Hirotoshi (reeds).

Ink Of the Ants - published Quartz - copyright control 1999
Engineered at 'The Shed' Studios, Ambleside, Cumbria.

Immersion Gallery - published Quartz / copyright control 1999

Crimson Hood - published Quartz / 3MV 1999

The Ten Commandments - published Quartz / Pitch (SOCAN) 1999

A Cartographic Anomaly - published Quartz / Momentum Music Ltd. 1999

The Long Sleep - published Quartz / Over & Over Music 1999

Neo-Noir - published Quartz / copyright control (GEMA) 1999
Dhrupad singing recorded August 1998.
Mixed at Klangwerkstatt Berlin, March 1999.

Pink Fluffy Cubicle On Mercurius Port - published Quartz / Chrysalis Publishing 1999
Talvin Singh appears courtesy of Universal / Island Records

Dream Fluid Laboratory - published Quartz / Post Minimalist Music Publishing Company (BMI) 1999

Art Of Ruins - published Quartz / copyright control 1999

Stories edited and extracted from 'Exotica; fabricated soundscapes in a real world', published by Serpent's Tail, 1999
Produced April 1999, London, England
Made in Austria

Packaging: clear tray jewel case with 16 page booklet

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 8 712526 000205
  • Barcode (String): 8712526000205
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L555
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 94I5
  • Matrix / Runout: [DADC Logo] A0100280772-0101 15 A0
  • Rights Society: STEMRA
  • Rights Society (Quartz Publications): PRS
  • Rights Society (Quartz Publications): MCPS
  • Rights Society (Peebles): ASCAP
  • Rights Society (Peebles, Pitch): SOCAN
  • Rights Society (copyright control): GEMA
  • Rights Society (Songs Of Polygram Int., Post Minimalist Music Publishing Company): BMI