David Vorhaus ‎– Out Of The Dark

KPM Music ‎– KPM 1342
Vinyl, LP


A1 Out Of The Dark 2:32
A2 Mainframe Blues 2:47
A3 Light Moves 2:57
A4 Tempus 1:33
A5 Three D (a) 1:03
A6 Three D (b) 0:30
A7 In Shadow 1:26
A8 On The Strip 0:57
A9 Helios 0:51
A10 The DIY Machine (a) 1:00
A11 The DIY Machine (b) 0:30
A12 Gyroscope 2:00
A13 The Labyrinth 2:15
B1 Now You See Me 2:06
B2 Under The Lens 3:23
B3 Now You Don't 2:26
B4 Sanctus 1:05
B5 Science Today 2:12
B6 Eclipse 1:34
B7 Neutron Club 2:17
B8 The Well-Tempered Hologram 2:40
B9 Bringer Of Darkness 2:14



Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



July 27, 2010
A member of the original White Noise trio ca 1969, along Delia Derbyshire and Brian Hodgson, Dave Vorhaus made a handful of LPs for British library music label KPM during the 1980s. Unlike White Noise, who focused on VCS3, this LP is entirely composed on the Fairlight Computer Musical Instrument, said to be the first sampler ever commercially produced, though Vorhaus doesn’t seem to use the 16bit/44.1khz sampling facility of the 1985 Series IIx and might be using an earlier model. The Fairlight’s crisp sounds are put to good use in this wonderfully retro-futurist disc (Vorhaus also contributed to a demonstration cassette promoting the Fairlight), and the fascinating sounds of the electronic instrument create many moods and atmospheres, as befits a library music record. The music deserves to be listened at high volume with a good amplifier – only then can you understand the fascination the Fairlight induced. The LP’s front cover comes with a small hologram of the KPM’s logo, and the next-to-last track is nicely titled The Well-Tempered Hologram. Other track titles also bear references to science.

(review grabbed from a blog ;)