David Willcocks ‎– A Festival Of Lessons And Carols

Argo (2) ‎– ZRG 5190
Vinyl, LP, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Processional Hymn - Once In Royal David's City
Adapted By [Harmonized By] – A.H. Mann*Music By [Melody] – H.J. Gauntlett*Words By – Mrs. C.F. Alexander*
A2 The Bidding Prayer
A3 Invitatory
Composed By – J.S. Bach*Solo Vocal – Peter Harrison (8), Robert Tear
A4 First Lesson - Genesis III
Read By – Anthony Seddon
A5 Carol - Adam Lay Ybounden
Music By – Boris OrdWords By [15th Century] – Unknown Artist
A6 Second Lesson - Isaiah IX
Read By – Hanmer Webb-Peploe
A7 Carol - I Saw Three Ships
Arranged By – David WillcocksWritten-By [English] – Traditional
A8 Third Lesson - St. Luke I
Read By – John Barton (2)
A9 Carol - Gabriel´s Message
Music By [Old Basque] – Unknown ArtistWords By – S. Baring-Gould*
A10 Carol - God Rest Your Merry, Gentlemen
Arranged By – David WillcocksWritten-By [English] – Traditional
B1 Carol - Sussex Carol
Arranged By – David WillcocksWritten-By [English] – Traditional
B2 Fourth Lesson - St. Matthew I
Read By – Donald Beves
B3 Carol - In Dulci Jubilo
Arranged By – R.L. de Pearsall*Written-By [14th Century, German] – Unknown Artist
B4 Fifth Lesson - St. Luke II
Read By – George Rylands
B5 Carol - Away In A Manger
Adapted By [Harmonized By] – David WillcocksMusic By [Melody] – W. Kirkpatrick*Words By – Martin Luther (3)
B6 Hymn - While Shephards Watched
Words By – Nahum Tate
B7 Sixth Lesson - St. Matthew II
Read By – Alec Vidler
B8 Hymn - O Come, All Ye Faithful
Music By [18th Century] – Unknown ArtistTranslated By – F. Oakeley*
B9 Seventh Lesson - St. John I
B10 Hymn - Bark The Herald Angels Sing
Music By – Mendelssohn*Words By – C. Wesley*, G. Whitefield*

Companies, etc.



As sung on Christmas Eve, 1958.
℗ 1959

Reissue from a different master from ca. 1972 - 1979 with the Argo logo on the labels appearing in a rectangle.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout stamp side A): ZRG-2127-5G
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout stamp side B): ZRG-2128-5G


Add Review



December 23, 2012
No wonder this is my favourite chrismas album. I Just found out (here) it was recorded the day i was born...