De La Soul ‎– Stakes Is High

Tommy Boy ‎– TBCD 1149, Warner Strategic Marketing ‎– 1699-81149-2
CD, Album, Reissue, Repress

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Intro 2:35
2 Supa Emcees 3:40
3 The Bizness
Featuring – Common
4 Wonce Again Long Island 3:39
5 Dinninit 4:20
6 Brakes 4:06
7 Dog Eat Dog 3:36
8 Baby Baby Baby Baby Ooh Baby 2:10
9 Long Island Degrees 3:27
10 Betta Listen 4:28
11 Itzsoweezee (H.O.T.) 4:55
12 4 More
Featuring – Zhane*
13 Big Brother Beat
Featuring – Mos Def
14 Down Syndrome 3:04
15 Pony Ride
Featuring – Truth Enola
16 Stakes Is High
Co-producer – De La Soul
17 Sunshine 3:39

Companies, etc.



(P)&(C) 1996 Tommy Boy Music, Inc.
Made in Germany by Warner Music Manufacturing Europe. (On Back)
Made in U.S.A. (On CD)

Track 1 contains samples from "Sing A Simple Song" (S. Steward), as recorded by <a href=>The Jackson Five</a>.
Track 2 contains samples from "La Di Da Di" (R. Walters/D. Davis), as recorded by <a href=>Slick Rick</a> & <a href=>Doug E. Fresh</a>, "Summer Samba" (M. Palle), as recorded by <a href=>Walter Wanderley</a> and "Adventures Of Super Rhymes" (J. Spicer/M. Nelson/B. Nichols/C. Campbell), as recorded by <a href=>Jimmy Spicer</a>.
Track 4 contains a sample from "Who's Making Love" (H. Banks/B. Crutcher/D. Davis/R. Jackson), as recorded by <a href=>Lou Donaldson</a>.
Track 5 contains a sample from "Enchanted Lady" (M. Jackson), as recorded by <a href=>Milt Jackson</a>.
Track 6 contains samples from "The Breaks" (R. Ford/R. Simmons/J. Moore/K. Walker/L. Smith), as recorded by <a href=>Kurtis Blow</a>, "P.S.K. What Does It Mean" (J. Weaver), as recorded by <a href=>Schoolly D</a>, "It's Your Rock" (R. Hobdy/C. Jimenez/L. Mack), as recorded by <a href=>Fantasy Three</a> and "Children's Story" (R. Walters), as recorded by <a href=>Slick Rick</a>.
Track 8 contains samples from "Buffalo Girls" (M. McLaren/A. Dudley), as recorded by <a href=>Malcolm McLaren</a>.
Track 9 contains samples from "Before I Rest" (L. McCann), as recorded by <a href=>Les McCann</a> and "It Only Happens (When I Look at You)" (M. Denne/K. Gold), as recorded by <a href=>Aretha Franklin</a>.
Track 12 contains samples from "Jimmy's Bonus Beats" (N. Hall/M. Small), as recorded by <a href=>The Jungle Brothers</a>, "A Rose For Booker", as recorded by <a href=>The New Dynamic Chico Hamilton Quintet</a> and "Never Give You Up" (E. Matthew/D. Payne), as recorded by <a href=>Sharon Redd</a>.
Track 14 contains a sample from "Talking Loud And Saying Nothing" (J. Brown/B. Byrd), as recorded by <a href=>James Brown</a>.
Track 16 contains samples from "Mind Power" (J. Brown/C. Bobbit/F. Wesley), as recorded by <a href=>James Brown</a> and "Swahililand" (A. Jamal), as recorded by <a href=>Ahmad Jamal</a>.
Track 17 contains a sample from "High On Sunshine" (L. Richie/T. McClary), as recorded by <a href=>The Commodores</a>.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 16998 11492 6
  • Barcode (String): 016998114926
  • Matrix / Runout: [Warner logo] 169981149-2.2 V01 WFS
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L016
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 053Z
  • Label Code: LC 04281

Other Versions (5 of 27) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
TB 1149 De La Soul Stakes Is High(LP, Album) Tommy Boy TB 1149 US 1996 Sell This Version
TBC 1149 De La Soul Stakes Is High(Cass, Album) Tommy Boy TBC 1149 Europe 1996 Sell This Version
TB 1175 De La Soul Stakes Is High(LP, Album, Promo) Tommy Boy TB 1175 US 1996 Sell This Version
HIGH Dela Soul* The Stakes Is High(12", Unofficial) Not On Label (De La Soul) HIGH 1996 Sell This Version
TBCD 1149, 1699-81149-2 De La Soul Stakes Is High(CD, Album, RE, RP) Tommy Boy, Warner Strategic Marketing TBCD 1149, 1699-81149-2 Europe 2003 Sell This Version