Deee-Lite ‎– World Clique

Elektra ‎– 9 60957-2, Elektra ‎– 60957-2
CD, Album, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Deee-Lite Theme 2:09
2 Good Beat 4:38
3 Power Of Love 4:41
4 Try Me On... I'm Very You 5:18
5 Smile On 3:58
6 What Is Love? 3:40
7 World Clique
Backing Vocals – Sahira*, Sheila Slappy
8 E.S.P. 3:44
9 Groove Is In The Heart
Backing Vocals – Bootsy*Rap – Q-TipWritten-By – Herbie Hancock
10 Who Was That? 4:36
11 Deep Ending 3:49
12 Build The Bridge
Vocals – Bill "Chicken On Fire" Coleman*

Companies, etc.



Recorded at D&D Studios.
Additional recording at Calliope Studios (NYC).
Mastered at The Hit Factory.

CD face indicates that a song is co-written by Herbie Hancock, but does not indicate which one.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 075596095723
  • Matrix / Runout: wea mfg. OLYPHANT X5877 2 60957-2 03
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L902
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 2V2D

Other Versions (5 of 47) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ST-E-60957-A, ST-E-60957-B Deee-Lite World Clique(LP, Album) Elektra, Elektra ST-E-60957-A, ST-E-60957-B US 1990 Sell This Version
7559-60957-1, EKT 77 Deee-Lite World Clique(LP, Album) Elektra, Elektra 7559-60957-1, EKT 77 UK & Europe 1990 Sell This Version
7559-60957-2 Deee-Lite World Clique(CD, Album, RP) Elektra 7559-60957-2 Europe Unknown Sell This Version
195325 Deee-Lite World Clique(Cass, Album) Elektra 195325 Chile 1990 Sell This Version
MOVLP1540 Deee-Lite World Clique(LP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, 180) Music On Vinyl, Elektra MOVLP1540 UK & Europe 2015 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



July 3, 2010
edited over 7 years ago
Definitely one of the most beloved albums of its time. The concept, the songs, the voice of Lady Miss Kier Kirby - all set to perfect match. Deee-lite will probably be most remembered for their ultimate smash-hit 'Groove is in the heart', not to forget their extravagant image. However, while many clubs still offer 'Groove' on permanent display, other songs are not to be underrestimated for this is a fully blooded high quality debut.

Differences between LP and CD editions (which add couple of more gems to the list) are minor - opening 'Deee-lite Theme' and the closing number 'Build the Bridge' sadly missed the LP completists; the first one is a slower, sexy beatbox expertise while the last keeps House music in its fairly obscure frame.

In the middle, the songs are a wonderful mixture of club music incorporating most of its popular styles; techno, acid, soul, jazz, etc. 'Good Beat' explains it perfectly - 'Depending on how you see a thing.' Eclectic enough to accept this statement and find something for yourself; 'The Power of Love' (personally, I prefer its single mix rather than the album version), the extraordinary 'Try Me On... I'm Very You', somewhat lazy 'Smile On' and the YMO-filtered 'What Is Love?' demonstrate DJ Dmitry and Jungle DJ Towa Towa's skills perfectly.

'World Clique', an honest, naive social statement of intent and 'E.S.P.' should have also been there on the dancefloor to the present day - but, I guess, they are club gems sadly left imprisoned by the album format. And then, the ever-present 'Groove Is In The Heart', the song that propelled the trio skyrocket.

Interesting about the samples information from the earlier post here on discogs; a friend of mine accidentally found out he had some obscure LP record containing belly dance instructions, and the music opening 'Groove Is In The Heart' is the exact sample off that record (the original belly dance piece is a recommended find in itself as that music is actually a fine mix between orchestrated jazz and the exotic - sadly, I have no idea what is the name of that record). 'Who Was That?' a comic little tune about burglary follows, ending with a juicy midnight snack, while 'Deep-ending' is another great, 'never-to-be' club hit (interesting, here Deee-lite sample The The's 'Uncertain Smile' to great effect).

In all, 'World Clique' made Deee-lite a deserved phenomenon - a lot of people helped it out, one way or the other - a thanks-list on the album's sleeve is quite long for your personal pleasure of discovering how many actually inspired the group. Maybe all of their later albums never repeated the commercial success of this one, but maybe it wasn't meant to be that commercial anyway. 'World Clique' just got them into spotlight at the right moment. 20 years on, and the timing of the record still sounds perfect.


May 7, 2008

"Groove is in the heart" contains many samples:
- The bassline was sampled from "Bring down the birds" performed by Herbie Hancock.
- The rhythm, crowd noises and flute sounds were sampled from "Get up" performed by Vernon Burch.
- The "I" vocal snippet was sampled from the TV theme of "The green acres" written by Vic Mizzy.
- The "Bllll!" vocal snippet was sampled from "Hateful head Helen" performed by Sweet Pussy Pauline.
"Esp" contains an orchestral sample taken from the TV theme of "Bewitched" written by Howard Greenfield and Jack Keller.
The vocals of Bill "chicken on fire" Coleman on "Build the bridge" were later used in "Activator (you need some)" by the project 'Whatever, Girl' (Bill Coleman & Louie "Balo" Guzman).