Deleted ‎– Meeting In No Man's Land

Corrosive Tapes ‎– none
Cassette, C60


A1 The Air
A2 Bist Du ?
A3 Brume
A4 While She Sleeps
A5 Unterrock
A6 Un Autre Temps
A7 Basalte
A8 The World
A9 Les Vacances
A10 Citizen
B1 Indifference
B2 Le Pendu
B3 To Me
B4 Erg (Excerpt)
B5 La Transfiguration
B6 Wieder
B7 Granite
B8 Just Before We Die
B9 Empty Rooms
B10 Soliloque
B11 Sud


Add Review



May 18, 2012
DELETED create their own dark little world of mystery. The quality of their recordings begs that they receive release on CD but history somehow forgot to follow this up and their strange combination of Jazz, Folk and Industrial resides forever on cassette. Tragic.
When they want to be charming and whimsical, they are; when they want to paint the world as a dark and mysterious place, they do. What this gives you is a rich and well-realised music interspersed with Surreal imagery or harsh cold Urban Tribalism or good old French quirkiness. 'Real' instruments (piano, brass, guitars etc) combine with electronics (held to a subtle minimum) and treatments to create an unnerving sound. This makes for a very eclectic album - no two tracks seem particularly related, yet all sit together well, making this a journey well worth taking, and one where the listener is actually rewarded for paying attention. Sixty minutes; twenty one tracks - surely that's enough for anyone? But no, they leave you hungry, wishing for more, craning to see what is around the next corner, dizzy with anticipation yet anxious with fear. And it goes without saying that this makes for a very entertaining album during the first couple of plays, and a sustaining fave from then on.

Seasoned with unsettling weirdness, this is a Gallic gallimaufry you should feast upon with relish!

Originally reviewed for Soft Watch.