Depeche Mode ‎– Playing The Angel

Mute (2) ‎– int.cdstumm260, Mute (2) ‎– 0094634057523
CD, Album, Copy Protected, Unofficial Release

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 A Pain That I'm Used To 4:11
2 John The Revelator 3:42
3 Suffer Well 3:49
4 The Sinner In Me 4:56
5 Precious 4:10
6 Macro 4:03
7 I Want It All 6:09
8 Nothing's Impossible 4:21
9 Introspectre 1:42
10 Damaged People 3:29
11 Lilian 4:49
12 The Darkest Star
Piano – Dave McCracken
Bonus Tracks:
13 Precious (Sasha's Gargantuan Vocal Mix) (Edit)
Remix – Sasha
14 Precious (Misc. Full Vocal Mix)
Remix – Misc.
15 Free 5:13

Companies, etc.



International (Europe) copy controlled edition.

Official release date of "Playing The Angel" was the 17th October (UK), but the international copy available via Mute Germany was released on the 14th October (Germany's release day is Friday).
The booklet mistakenly credits Dave McCracken as the piano player in "I Want It All". However, there is no piano in "I Want It All". He really should be credited for the piano in "The Darkest Star."

The two cat.# of the UK edition (cdstumm260 0094634057707) are indicated on back cover and inside booklet.
Subtitle on the back cover: "Pain and suffering in various tempos".

Produced for 140dB.
Recorded at Sound Design, Santa Barbara; Stratosphere Sound Studios, New York
Recorded and mixed at Whitfield Studios, London
Tracks 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11 & 12 published by EMI Music Publishing Ltd.
Assigned by Grabbing Hands Music Overseas Ltd.
Tracks 3, 7 & 8 published by JJSR Productions Inc./Universal Music Publishing Ltd.
"John The Revelator" inspired by the traditional work of the same name.
All tracks mastered at The Lodge, New York.

[In booklet:]
℗ 2005 Venusnote Limited © 2005 Venusnote Limited under exclusive license to Mute Records Limited

[On backsleeve:]
℗ 2005 Venusnote Ltd. © 2005 Venusnote Ltd. under exclusive license to Mute Records Limited.
This is unofficial release with 3 bonus tracks, no IFPI Mould code on disc. Official release with identical catalogue number: 12 tracks

Track 13 is misprinted "Precious - Sasha`s Gargantuan Vocal Mix (Edit)" on the rear cover

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 094634057523
  • Matrix / Runout: WWW.MEDIAMOTION.COM 3405752 @ 1
  • Label Code: LC5834
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LW04

Other Versions (5 of 103) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
cdstumm260, 0094634057707 Depeche Mode Playing The Angel(CD, Album) Mute, Mute cdstumm260, 0094634057707 UK 2005 Sell This Version
lcdstumm260, 0094634243025 Depeche Mode Playing The Angel(SACD, Hybrid, Multichannel, Album + DVD-V, Multich) Mute, Mute lcdstumm260, 0094634243025 Europe 2005 Sell This Version
094634522922 Depeche Mode Playing The Angel(CD, Album, Copy Prot. + DVD-V, Multichannel, PAL) Mute 094634522922 Argentina 2005 Sell This Version
88985336991 Depeche Mode Playing The Angel(2xLP, Album, RE) Sony Music, Mute 88985336991 Europe 2017 Sell This Version
int.cdstumm260, 0094634057523 Depeche Mode Playing The Angel(CD, Album, Copy Prot.) Mute, Mute int.cdstumm260, 0094634057523 Europe 2005 Sell This Version