Dinosaur Jr* ‎– Where You Been

Cherry Red ‎– PBREDD757
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Blue

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Out There
A2 Start Choppin
A3 What Else Is New
A4 On The Way
A5 Not The Same
Piano [Low Notes On Piano] – Mike Johnson (8)
B1 Get Me
Soloist [1st Solo] – Mike Johnson (8)
B2 Drawerings
Rhythm Guitar [Right Speaker Rhythm Guitar] – Kurt Fedora
B3 Hide
Soloist [Right Speaker Solo] – Mike Johnson (8)
B4 Goin Home
Tambourine – George Berz
B5 I Ain't Sayin
C1 Hot Burrito #2
Backing Vocals – George Berz, John Agnello, Matt DillonWritten-By – Ethridge*, Parsons*
C2 Quest (Acoustic)
C3 Turnip Farm
Performer [The Rest] – J*Recorded By – J*, Kurt FedoraRhythm Guitar [Left Side Rhythm Guitar], Bass – Kurt*
C4 Forget It
C5 Keeblin'
Engineer – Tim O'Hare*
D1 Get Me (Peel Session)
D2 Keeblin' (Peel Session)
D3 Hide (Peel Session)
D4 Missing Link
Featuring – Del The Funky Homosapien*Written-By – Mascis*, Jones*

Companies, etc.



Remastered & expanded 2 LP Edition
Contains bonus tracks & Peel Sessions

Package in a gatefold sleeve.
Each LP is housed in a custom inner sleeve.

℗ 2019 Cherry Red Records Ltd, except for Side D tracks 1-3 ℗ 1993 and 2019 BBC Worldwide Ltd and licensed courtesy of BBC Worldwide Ltd
This compilation © 2019 Cherry Red Records Ltd
www.cherryred.co.uk Made in EU

'Where You Been' released February 1993
Side C, track 1: 'Get Me' Single B-Side released November 1992.
Side C, track 2: 'Quest' Australasian and Asia only EP released July 1993. (These are incorrect sleeve notes - C2 was issued on the 'Get Me' 12" and CD editions in UK and Europe - see https://www.discogs.com/Dinosaur-Jr-Get-Me/master/5606)
Side C, tracks 3 and 4: 'Start Choppin' Single B-Side released January 1993
Side C, track 5: 'Out There' Single B-Side released May 1993.
Side D, tracks 1-3: Recorded for the John Peel Show, BBC Radio One (UK), November 24th 1992 (broadcast January 9th 1993)
Side D, track 4: From the 'Judgement night' OST, released September 1993.

All tracks [...] published by Spam As The Bread Music/BMG Blue/BMG Rights Management (UK) Ltd. except for Hot Burrito #2 [...] Irving Music/Universal Music Publishing Ltd and Missing Link [...] Careers BMG Music Publishing, Careers Music Inc, Universal Music Publishing International Ltd.

'Where You Been' [...] recorded mostly at Dreamland, then Master Control and Baby Monster [...]

Keeblin' engineered [...] at Wendell Recording Studio.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 013929 175716
  • Matrix / Runout (A-side runout): PBREDD 757 A MPO 19 133166 -LvC-
  • Matrix / Runout (B-side runout): PBREDD 757 B MPO 19 131063 -LvC-
  • Matrix / Runout (C-side runout): PBREDD 757 C MPO 19 133133 -LvC-
  • Matrix / Runout (D-side runout): PBREDD 757 D MPO 19 131062 -LvC-

Other Versions (5 of 40) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
9 45108-2 Dinosaur Jr. Where You Been(CD, Album) Sire, Warner Bros. Records, Blanco Y Negro 9 45108-2 US 1993 Sell This Version
WMC5-586 Dinosaur Jr. Where You Been(CD, Album) Blanco Y Negro WMC5-586 Japan 1993 Sell This Version
BYN28, 4509-91627-1 Dinosaur Jr. Where You Been(LP, Album) Blanco Y Negro, Blanco Y Negro BYN28, 4509-91627-1 UK & Europe 1993 Sell This Version
none Dinosaur Jr. Where You Been (Expanded & Remastered)(CDr, Album, Promo) Rhino Records (2), Warner Bros. Records, Blanco Y Negro, Sire none US 2006 Sell This Version
4-45108 RE-1 Dinosaur Jr. Where You Been(Cass, Album, Promo, NON) Sire 4-45108 RE-1 US 1992 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



October 4, 2019

The crackle isn't too noticeable on my copy. I did a once over with my anti-static brush before playing it so who knows if that's the culprit? The sound is incredible, though! The Peel sessions are a nice touch, too. Too bad this is import only for US customers. You'll have to pay a pretty penny but if you love this album it should be an easy decision.


September 27, 2019
edited 18 days ago
I don't really like writing reviews, but I'm guessing for the price people will want to know if these '90s reissues are worth it. In my opinion, Yes Yes Yes. I should preface my review and state that Dinosaur Jr's 90s albums were the first ones I owned, and maybe for that reason were always my favorites.
Pressing is good. I have no warping or skipping issues on my copies. Despite a decent pre-amp, amp set up, I don't always think Dinosaur Jr sounds best on vinyl. These, however, sound really good. I cleaned all my albums, but there is definitely crackle when the needle drops and between songs, as well as on the quieter acoustic tunes. But given the outstanding quality of the packaging and song selection for the bonus tracks, I don't mind so much in this case. I ordered all 4 LPs and CDs and couldn't be happier. The sleeves are sturdy and covered with photos, liner notes/essays and drawings. (You will have to put the discs in your own sleeve protectors). Some of the bonus tracks included here were exclusive to certain countries such as Japan and Australia back in the 90s, but available now for the first time on these reissues. Over the years I have collected some of those exclusive CD releases, but now I have many of those songs all in one here, and on vinyl, wow. For those of you who know what I'm referring to, the amazing 10 min live version of "What else is new," from the Japanese "Feel the Pain" live EP is included. Also, the CDs contain even more songs in addition to the bonus tracks included on the vinyl LPs. For example, the "Without a Sound" CD contains instrumental versions from the master tapes. Crazy.
Each CD comes with its own booklet. So much material, packaged so nicely. It's all well worth the money in my opinion. Doesn't feel like a half-assed rip off reissue at all.
Outstanding job by Cherry Red Records in my opinion for these wonderful albums that most Dinosaur Jr fans think are under appreciated. Oh yes, and I purchased direct from Cherry Red Records and received a square pin of each album! They told me in an email that they ran out, but are restocking more.
Hope this review helps anyone on the fence.