Dntel ‎– Dumb Luck

Sub Pop ‎– spcd 725
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Dumb Luck
Backing Vocals – Morgan NaglerGuitar – Paul LarsonWritten-By – Jimmy Tamborello
2 To A Fault
Drums [Additional] – Chris HathwellVocals, Performer [Additional Sounds], Lyrics By, Recorded By – Ed Droste*Written-By – Edward Droste, Jimmy Tamborello
3 I'd Like To Know
Vocals, Lyrics By, Synthesizer [Additional Synths], Recorded By [Vocals And Additional Synths] – Markus Acher, Valerie TrebeljahrWritten-By – Jimmy Tamborello, Markus Acher, Valerie Trebeljahr
4 Roll On
Guitar [Additional Guitar] – Paul LarsonVocals, Guitar [Some Guitar], Written-By, Lyrics By – Jenny Lewis
5 The Distance
Drums [Additional Drums] – Scott BlueRecorded By – Ben Kersten*Vocals [Additional Vocals] – Sonya WestcottVocals, Glockenspiel, Keyboards [House Keys], Lyrics By – Grant OlsenWritten-By – Arthur & Yu, Jimmy Tamborello
6 Rock My Boat
Drums [Additional Drums] – Chris HathwellGuitar – Paul LarsonVocals, Recorded By [Vocals] – Mia Doi ToddWritten-By – Jimmy Tamborello, Mia Doi Todd
7 Natural Resources
Vocals, Lyrics By, Recorded By [Vocals] – Andrew BroderWritten-By – Andrew Broder, Jimmy Tamborello
8 Breakfast In Bed
Drums [Additional Drums] – Chris HathwellSaxophone – James A. Tamborello*Written-By – Conor Oberst, Jimmy Tamborello
9 Dreams
Vocals, Bass, Harp, Synthesizer [Flute Synth], Guitar [Additional Guitar], Lyrics By, Recorded By [Vocals, Bass, Harp, Flute Synth And Additional Guitar] – Christopher Gunst*, Jennifer GunstWritten-By – Jimmy Tamborello, Mystic Chords Of Memory

Companies, etc.



Track 1: © Dying Songs (BMI) c/o The Bicycle Music Co.
Track 2: © Dying Songs (BMI)/Ed Droste.
Track 3: © Dying Songs (BMI)/Abzocker Verlag/Warner Chappell/Valerie Trebeljahr.
Track 4: © Deprecious Music (BMI).
Track 5: © Dying Songs (BMI)/Arthur & Yu Publishing (ASCAP). Recorded at MRX Studios.
Track 6: © Dying Songs (BMI)/City Zen Music (BMI).
Track 7: © Dying Songs (BMI)/Warp Music/EMI Music.
Track 8: © Dying Songs (BMI)/Bedrooms And Spiders (SESAC). Conor Oberst appears courtesy of Saddle Creek.
Track 9: © Dying Songs (BMI)/Mystic Chords of Memory Music (ASCAP).
All songs recorded and mixed 2002-2006 at Dying Songs I & II in Los Angeles except where noted.
Mastered at Calyx Mastering.
©(P) 2007 Sub Pop Records.
Sub Pop is a registered trademark of Sub Pop Records.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 98787 07252 5
  • Barcode (Scanned): 098787072525
  • Matrix / Runout: Z56599 IR ADV 725.1-2 02 M1S2
  • Mastering SID Code (2x): ifpi L909
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 2U9C

Other Versions (5 of 5) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ADVCD725 Dntel Dumb Luck(CD, Album, Promo, Adv) Sub Pop ADVCD725 US 2007 Sell This Version
SP 725 Dntel Dumb Luck(LP, Album) Sub Pop SP 725 US 2007 Sell This Version
none Dntel Dumb Luck(CDr, Album, Promo) Moshi Moshi Records none Unknown Sell This Version
moshicd19 Dntel Dumb Luck(CD, Album) Moshi Moshi Records moshicd19 UK 2007 Sell This Version
YOUTH-18 Dntel Dumb Luck(CD, Album) Sub Pop YOUTH-18 Japan 2007 Sell This Version



Add Review



July 27, 2007
edited over 11 years ago

After hitting the big time with his side project The Postal Service, Jimmy Tamborello returns to Dntel, his more glitch-oriented persona. "Dumb Luck" adds some flutter and wow to what sounds to be a melodic little folk-pop ditty, while "To a Fault" layers voices onto waves of noise. The folk-glitch harmonizing continues with "Roll On," which is almost pop-friendly. Indeed, much of the album flirts with gentle pop melodies; a hint of country creeps through onto "The Distance." Mia Doi Todd's vocals soar majestically over the low tones of "Rock My Boat" and the wobbly tones on "Breakfast in Bed" raise both of those tracks in prominence. Overall, however, DUMB LUCK feels a lot more loose and more unfocused than LIFE IS FULL OF POSSIBILITIES. It's still wonderful for a mellow night, however, one full of stars and fireflies.