Don Ruijgrok, Mike Scolari ‎– Interpellate EP

Drowne Records ‎– DRW028
4 × File, MP3, EP, 320 kbps

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Interpellate
2 Interpellate
Remix – Michal Jablonski
3 Interpellate
Remix – Uakoz
4 Amendment


We are happy to present the dutchmen Don Ruijgrok and Mike Scolari who appear on our 28th catalogue number with their 'Interpellate' EP! This release shows up with two originals being placed alongside remixes by the polish sound-searcher Michal Jablonski, and london-based italian Uakoz!

The title-track 'Interpellate' creates a stompy bass-fueled atmosphere right from the beginning and shows up with steaming background-noises, when stabbing hi-hats appear which accentuate the groove! Sonaresque and detuned stabs clink around, and whipping claps reinforce the tracks character while short-cut vocalsnippets emerge and classy rides make tension at the right time!

Starting with an offbeat-accentuation 'Amendment' comes to light with driving percussion structures and presses forward quite soon! Churring pads dive on and get reinforced by recurring synths which support the threatening atmosphere. Broad rides and cautious snarefires ensure the excitement and ring-in the breakdown where a distorted vocal breaks through.

The first remix arrives from Michal Jablonski who likes to dig deep in various genres and has a major affinity to dub-techno. Taking off with mesmerizing and acidic synths, the kickdrum hammers down before low percussions concrete the driving character. Dub-delays add a lot of organic quality to the sub-fueled tune, before a snappy hihat appears and well-reverbed industrial percussions reinforce the forward orientation. Bright rides make tension while ambient background noises bristle with energy and corroborate the ability to bring Michal 's rework of 'Interpellate' straight into the dusty techno caverns!

The second rework comes from Uakoz and appears with a subtle throbbing bassline and gentle offbeat hi-hats which get strenghtened by well grooving top structures subsequently. A broad range of futuristic effects whirl and whizz around, while the theme, which is defined by by repetitive haunting screams, surfaces and drift towards the drop to initiate the action again!