Donald Fagen ‎– The Nightfly

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab ‎– UD1S 2-003
2 × Vinyl, 12", 45 RPM, Album, Limited Edition, Numbered, Reissue, Remastered
Box Set

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 I. G. Y. (International Geophysical Year)
Alto Saxophone – Dave TofaniBacking Vocals – Frank Floyd, Gordon Grody, Valerie Simpson, Zack Sanders*Baritone Saxophone – Ronnie CuberBass – Anthony JacksonDrums – James GadsonDrums [Additional] – Jeff PorcaroElectric Piano – Greg PhillinganesGuitar – Hugh McCrackenPercussion – Roger Nichols, Starz VanderlocketSynth [Blues Harp] – Donald FagenSynthesizer – Donald Fagen, Rob MounseyTenor Saxophone – Michael BreckerTrombone – Dave BargeronTrumpet – Randy Brecker
A2 Green Flower Street
Backing Vocals – Daniel Lazerus, Frank Floyd, Valerie Simpson, Zack Sanders*Bass – Chuck RaineyDrums – Jeff PorcaroElectric Piano, Clavinet – Greg PhillinganesGuitar – Dean Parks, Rick DerringerLead Guitar – Larry CarltonPercussion – Starz VanderlocketSynthesizer – Donald Fagen, Rob Mounsey
B1 Ruby Baby
Backing Vocals – Donald Fagen, Valerie SimpsonBass – Anthony JacksonDrums – Jeff PorcaroDrums [Additional] – James GadsonElectric Piano, Organ, Synthesizer – Donald FagenGuitar – Hugh McCrackenLead Guitar – Larry CarltonPiano – Michael OmartianSoloist, Piano – Greg PhillinganesTenor Saxophone – Michael BreckerTrumpet, Flugelhorn – Randy Brecker
B2 Maxine
Alto Saxophone – Dave TofaniBaritone Saxophone – Ronnie CuberBass – Marcus MillerDrums – Ed Green*Electric Piano, Organ – Donald FagenEuphonium – Dave BargeronFlugelhorn – Randy BreckerGuitar – Larry CarltonPiano – Greg PhillinganesTenor Saxophone – Michael Brecker
C1 New Frontier
Backing Vocals – Donald Fagen, Starz VanderlocketBass – Abraham LaborielDrums – Ed Green*Harmonica – Hugh McCrackenLead Guitar – Larry CarltonPercussion – Starz VanderlocketPiano, Electric Piano – Michael Omartian
C2 The Nightfly
Backing Vocals – Donald Fagen, Frank Floyd, Valerie Simpson, Zack Sanders*Bass – Marcus MillerDrums – Jeff PorcaroElectric Piano – Michael OmartianGuitar – Hugh McCracken, Rick DerringerLead Guitar – Larry CarltonPiano – Donald FagenSynthesizer – Donald Fagen, Rob Mounsey
D1 The Goodbye Look
Acoustic Guitar – Steve KhanBacking Vocals – Donald Fagen, Valerie SimpsonBass – Marcus MillerDrums – Jeff PorcaroElectric Piano, Synthesizer – Greg PhillinganesGuitar – Dean ParksLead Guitar – Larry CarltonPercussion – Starz Vanderlocket
D2 Walk Between Raindrops
Backing Vocals – Donald Fagen, Leslie MillerBass – Will LeeDrums – Steve JordanElectric Piano, Organ, Synthesizer – Donald FagenGuitar – Larry CarltonSynthesizer [Bass] – Greg Phillinganes

Companies, etc.



Mastered from the Original Master Tapes with Mobile Fidelity's One-Step Process
Mastered on the Gain 2 Ultra Analog System
Comes with fold-out card thickness insert with lyrics and album cover photo.
Originally recorded and mixed entirely on 3M digital 32 track and 4 track machines at Soundworks Digital Audio/Video Recording Studios, N.Y., Village Recorders, L.A. and Automated Sound, N.Y.
℗ + © 1982 Warner Bros. Records Inc. for the US & WEA International Inc. for the world outside of the U.S.
Limited to 6 000 hand numbered copies.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8 21797 20032 5
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Runout Etched): UD1S2-003A4 28393.1(1)... KW@MoFi
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Runout Etched): UD1S2-003 B4 28393.2(1)... KW@MoFi
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C Runout Etched): UD1S2-003C3 28391.3(1)... KW@MoFi
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D Runout Etched): UD1S2-003D1.1 28394.4(1) KW@MoFi
  • Matrix / Runout (Sides A - D Labels. ): UD1S 2-003
  • Rights Society (B1): ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 132) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
9 23696-1, 1-23696 Donald Fagen The Nightfly(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records 9 23696-1, 1-23696 US 1982 Sell This Version
9 23696-1, 1-23696 Donald Fagen The Nightfly(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records 9 23696-1, 1-23696 South Africa 1982 Sell This Version
923696-1 Donald Fagen The Nightfly(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records 923696-1 Norway 1982 Sell This Version
92.3696-4, UK:W3696-4 Donald Fagen The Nightfly(Cass, Album, Bla) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records 92.3696-4, UK:W3696-4 Europe Unknown Sell This Version
BAN 923696 Donald Fagen The Nightfly(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records BAN 923696 US 1982 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 14 Reviews

Add Review



December 14, 2018

I'm glad that I preordered this one for the normal $100 before they sold out. It was a very good investment. We all know that the original release of this album has always sounded terrific on vinyl, but this box set really takes it to the next level with the best of modern mastering equipment. My only complaint would be a little too much pronounced treble on some of the drum tracks, but all in all this is a phenomenal sounding pressing. The packaging and presentation made it an extra special experience as well. The LP jackets have a good bit of scuffs and scratches from the factory, but I believe that a lot of people have experienced that issue with this release. Certainly not a deal breaker. This album would be a crown jewel in any record collection.


October 3, 2018
The following item is currently out of stock: Donald Fagen - The Nightfly Ultradisc One-Step 180g 45RPM 2LP Box Set


April 17, 2018

The BEST vinyl pressing of this LP ever made. Spreading it out onto 2 discs and at 45 rpm makes all the difference. Having said that, I notice siblance on the hi-hats and vocals on "The Goodbye Look".


November 16, 2017

I think this could very well be my best sounding record, purely from a technical standpoint... it sounds beautiful, full and warm.


November 6, 2017

$200? This is currently not sold out and is available from MFSL for $100.


November 3, 2017
Duplicate entry that is already under album categories for 2017.


October 26, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
Great album fantastic sound... Is anybody here who's not satisfide with this box?