Download ‎– Charlie's Family

Metropolis ‎– MET 045, Sub-Conscious Communications ‎– Sub 005/b
CD, Album, Reissue, Digipak

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Beautiful 4:34
2 Gristle Dog Corr
Performer [Uncredited] – Genesis P-Orridge, Larry Thrasher
3 Trick Or Treat 4:18
4 Fill Her 5:07
5 Tweeter Blower 4:48
6 Catblower 8:35
7 Yes 4:05
8 Interlude 5:00
9 Thank You 5:08

Companies, etc.



Mercury Films present a Jim VanBebber film CHARLIE'S FAMILY, starring Marc Pitman, Leslie Orr, Maureen Allisse, Marcelo Games, Jim VanBebber, Tina Martin Freddist and Carl Day as Jack Wilson. Music by Download. Edited by Jim VanBebber & Michael Capone. Produced by Mike King. Written and directed by Jim VanBebber.

Recorded and mixed at Subconscious Studios 94-95.
All songs composed and produced 1995.
Published by The Subconscious Birdwatcher 1997.

Total time: 47:47.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 782388004527
  • Matrix / Runout: MET045 IFPI L125 MASTERED BY NIMBUS IFPI L125
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L125
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 2400

Other Versions (5 of 6) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
Sub 005, O-56 Download Charlie's Family(CD, Album, Ltd) Sub-Conscious Communications, Off Beat Sub 005, O-56 US 1996 Sell This Version
none Download Charlie's Family(9xFile, AAC, Album, RE, 128) Metropolis none US 2009
AOF192 Download Charlie's Family(LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gre) Artoffact Records AOF192 Canada 2015 Sell This Version
AOF192 Download Charlie's Family(LP, Album, RE, TP) Artoffact Records AOF192 Canada 2015 Sell This Version
AOF192 Download Charlie's Family(LP, Album, RE, S/Edition, Yel) Artoffact Records AOF192 Canada 2015 Sell This Version



Add Review



January 9, 2011
this was constructed as the soundtrack to a film about charles manson, the samples from it being the downside of the album. it was not really used in the film at all...

while there are nods to expected soundtrack approaches (the first track is clearly an introduction; the last is clearly designed for closing credits), it really seems as though it's constructed more as an art project about the film than as for the film itself. overall, this gives it the feel of a concept record first and a soundtrack second.

absent from the record is the beat-heavy sound that is generally associated with download, meaning it may come off as disappointing to many key fans on first listen. it's closest analogue within the puppy family is actually probably to doubting thomas, which is not surprising at all given the purpose of that project. the sound is dominated by analogue synth knob twiddling in a way that is really uncharacteristic of key's work; the only other point that this really comes out in this way is in the slightly later key project music for cats. if you're looking for something to cave your head into, this really isn't it...

many of the tracks have next to no percussion at all, but the ones that do have replaced the beat-heavy sound with some kind of abstraction of the concept of a "groove". the passive drum parts in the third, fifth, sixth and seventh tracks may sound like early ambient autechre, but they're likely pushing back to some of key's early post-industrial-electro-synth-pop influences, while the fourth descends into total "industrial drum circle" madness. in most cases, however, the focus is on the knob-twiddling and the melodic synth work, leaving the percussion to just sort of keep the beat....again, this is very unusual for a puppy project.

on the one hand, the general style of (most of) the disc makes it work better as background/ambient/reading music than as something to be actively listened to. on the other hand, it's never going to work that way because the samples of "it's eating my skin! help me!" and "it's going to make nazi germany look like a picnic and you gotta be ready for that!" are never going to fade into the background. in that sense, it works a sort of disturbing kind of "horror ambience"'ll lull you to sleep, then wake you up with something deeply disturbing....

to be starkly blunt, large amounts of this disc sound as though they were thrown together very quickly, which is (perhaps ironically to non-puppy fans) probably the real reason that a lot of it is so structured. it's almost a window into the composition process; this sounds like source material, "normal songs" that haven't been destroyed's a side that was explored so little that the novelty of it is exciting in itself. what did last rights sound like before it got mangled? however, there are a few blendered tracks; the end of the third track really stands out as something some time was put into and the last track is hauntingly gorgeous.

if your goal is to completely understand cEvin key's work as a historian or something, the disc is absolutely essential because it's completely unique. however, general fans of "industrial music" should realize they're getting something closer to the aphex twin here than to skinny puppy.