Dream Theater ‎– Images And Words

ATCO Records ‎– 7567-92148-2, ATCO Records ‎– 7567-92148-2 YS
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Pull Me Under
Music By [Images] – Dream TheaterWords By – Moore*
2 Another Day
Music By [Images] – Dream TheaterSoprano Saxophone – Jay BeckensteinWords By – Petrucci*
3 Take The Time
Music By [Images], Words By – Dream Theater
4 Surrounded
Music By [Images] – Dream TheaterWords By – Moore*
5 Metropolis - Part I (The Miracle And The Sleeper)
Music By [Images] – Dream TheaterWords By – Petrucci*
6 Under A Glass Moon
Music By [Images] – Dream TheaterWords By – Petrucci*
7 Wait For Sleep
Music By [Images], Words By – Moore*
8 Learning To Live
Music By [Images] – Dream TheaterWords By – Myung*

Companies, etc.



This is the original release, which does not contain SID-codes as they were not introduced until 1994. SID-codes should be entered in the repress entry Dream Theater - Images And Words.

Recorded & mixed at Bear Tracks Studio, Suffern, NY, October-December, 1991.
Additional recording at The Hit Factory, NYC.
Mastered at Sterling Sound, NYC.

℗ © 1992 Atlantic Recording Corporation for the United States and WEA International Inc. for the world outside of the United States. All Rights Reserved.
Made In Germany by Warner Music Manufacturing Europe.

All lyrics © 1992 Octa Music, Inc. / Ytse Jams, Inc. adm. by WB Music Corp., ASCAP.
All songs published by Octa Music, Inc. / Ytse Jams, Inc. adm. by WB Music Corp., ASCAP.

Made in Germany

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 7567-92148-2 9
  • Barcode (Reader): 075679214829
  • Matrix / Runout: 756792148-2 WME
  • Rights Society: GEMA / BIEM
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Label Code: LC 0120
  • Distribution Code (France): CA 851
  • Mastering SID Code: none
  • Mould SID Code: none
  • Other (In The Mould): Warner Music Group logo
  • Other (In The Mould (Variant 1)): 11
  • Other (In The Mould (Variant 2)): 34
  • Other (In The Mould (Variant 3)): 26
  • Other (In The Mould (Variant 4)): 3
  • Other (In The Mould (Variant 5)): 35
  • Other (In The Mould (Variant 6)): 8

Other Versions (5 of 57) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
7567-92148-1 Dream Theater Images And Words(LP, Album) ATCO Records 7567-92148-1 Europe 1992 Sell This Version
92148-2 Dream Theater Images And Words(CD, Album, RE) ATCO Records 92148-2 US Unknown Sell This Version
792148-2, 92148-2 Dream Theater Images And Words(CD, Album, RE, Unofficial) Atco Records (2), Atco Records (2) 792148-2, 92148-2 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
AMCY-3113 Dream Theater Images And Words(CD, Album, RE, Unofficial, Pap) ATCO Records (2) AMCY-3113 Russia 2012 Sell This Version
7-92148-4 Dream Theater Images And Words(Cass, Album) ATCO Records 7-92148-4 Thailand 1992 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



February 8, 2018

It was back in 2003 that I was looking in a Virgin Megastore (remember those?) with the noble intention of investing my money in a band I'd never heard before. These were before the days when Youtube and streaming were so easily accessible. When we had to take risks with our money to try out new artists. I had stumbled across an album by a band I'd only heard of in name, but that risk was about to pay off; Dream Theater.

Being a 16-year-old heavy metal fan at the time, raised on a healthy diet of groups such as Megadeth, Metallica, Kiss and Rammstein, my initial thoughts were, quite simply; “this album sucks”. However, one thing piqued my interest, and it should come as no surprise that it was the amazingly heavy intro to the opening track, ‘Pull Me Under’.

As I heard more and more, the album grew on me. All these random traits of progressive music were becoming clearer. Odd time signatures, long, complex arrangements, the eclectic mixture of styles, keyboards (a heavy metal no-no), the creative lyrics and massive instrumental sections... It all started to make sense. To this day, 'Images and Words' not only introduced me to a new style of music, but a whole new way of looking at music.

So what makes it so great?

'Images and Words' is an album that defined a genre. Without Dream Theater, progressive metal might never have become what it did. Coming at a time when the genre was in its infancy, Dream Theater had that intangible X-factor that bands like Fates Warning, Queensryche, and even a group like Rush, were all missing at that point.

There's a perfect combination of everything on this album. There's metal songs, there's ballads, there's funky songs and there's jazzy songs too. The musicianship came at a time when there weren't many bands displaying such incredible technical prowess, at least in the mainstream anyway. Every song is perfectly crafted, with interesting musical passages and mind-boggling lyrics. 'Pull Me Under', 'Take the Time', 'Learning to Live' and the monstrous epic 'Metropolis Pt. 1; The Miracle and the Sleeper' are all staples in prog metal history.

This is the record that put Dream Theater on the map, and defined all progressive metal bands/albums for years to come. Every fan of the genre needs this in their collection, immediately. And I'm sure most old-school progressive rock fans will at least appreciate the importance this album had on prog music as a whole. Undeniably my favourite album of all time, 'Images and Words' is better than perfect.


May 19, 2017
I have heard that this CD contains a bass solo on a song called Metropolis where John Myung does a bass solo.


September 1, 2014

The sensation we feel entering for the first time the castle of Dream Theater music is the same we feel touching a splendid ivory sculpture: motionless and icy, brilliant and lucid, formally perfect but with no life in it. Indeed, it hides an ardent soul. Despite the images continuously changing, as marbles running through a spiral staircase, the warmth generated by the melodies is immediately enveloping. Delicate melancholy and hope inflame the heart and give dreamy visions, both in wonderful music and in poetic and surrealistic lyrics, dedicated to our capacity to love and to found hope, also in our relationship with solitude and death. The intensity of the new singer - James La Brie - is perfect for the emotive atmospheres and the luminous and epic energy of a great masterpiece that will be fundamental to innovate progressive rock philosophy.