Dream Theater ‎– Octavarium

Atlantic ‎– 7567-83793-2
CD, Album

Companies, etc.



Issued with a 16-page booklet including lyrics and credits

Recorded at the Hit Factory, NYC November 2004 - February 2005.
Mixed for MBH Productions.
Mastered at Sterling Sound, NYC.

All songs © 2005 Ytse Jams (ASCAP)

℗ © 2005 Atlantic Recording Corporation for the United States and WEA International Inc. for the world outside of the United States.
Manufactured in the E.U.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (string): 075678379321
  • Barcode (Text): 0 7567-83793-2 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1-4, 6-8, 10-12): [Warner Music Logo] CD 756783793-2 V01
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 5, 9): [NO Warner Music Logo] 756783793-2.2 V01 EWW
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1-4, 6-8, 10-12): IFPI L012
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 5, 9): IFPI L016
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 05N7
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 05R1
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 05M6
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 0518
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): IFPI 05R1
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 6): IFPI 054T
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 7): IFPI 05N5
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 8): IFPI 05R2
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 9): IFPI 05L2
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 10): IFPI 05M8
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 11): IFPI 0598
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 12): IFPI 05R1
  • Rights Society: GEMA/BIEM
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Label Code: LC 00121

Other Versions (5 of 30) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
7567-83793-2 Dream Theater Octavarium(CD, Album, Unofficial) Atlantic (2) 7567-83793-2 Russia 2005 Sell This Version
WPCR-13491 Dream Theater Octavarium(CD, Album, RE) Atlantic, Warner Music WPCR-13491 Japan 2009 Sell This Version
83793-4, 07567 83793 4 5 Dream Theater Octavarium(Cass, Album) Atlantic, Atlantic 83793-4, 07567 83793 4 5 United Arab Emirates 2005 Sell This Version
R1 83793 Dream Theater Octavarium(2xLP, Album) Atlantic R1 83793 US 2013 Sell This Version
HAO 2408 Dream Theater Octavarium(Cass, Album) Atlantic HAO 2408 US 2005 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



February 8, 2018

After the all-out metal assault that was 2003's 'Train of Thought', Dream Theater continue to develop their "metal" sound, while at the same time paying homage to their progressive roots. And so it is, that 'Octavarium' is seen from two perspectives. There's the fans who see it as Dream Theater's 70's-era prog rock album, and there's the ones who think it's just a smorgasbord of stolen ideas.

Admittedly, there are songs that sound similar to artists such as Muse, Linkin Park, U2 and the very Pink Floyd-sounding title track. But does that really make them bad? Does a band consisting of some of the finest musicians in the world really need to resort to plagiarism? And when did it become such a sin to wear your influences on your sleeve? Stolen ideas or not, I like the songs, and that's all that truly matters to me.

The main focal point of the record is the 24-minute title track, 'Octavarium'. A song that builds from a hauntingly ambient intro to one of the most climatic finishes in a Dream Theater track, it perfectly appeals to fans of both old progressive rock and modern metal alike, and will easily go down as one of the bands most memorable pieces.

The rest of the album features a mixture of heavy, rocking songs and soft, radio-friendly ballads. 'These Walls' and 'Never Enough' take the group into more alternative rock-inspired territory, whilst others such as 'The Root of All Evil' and 'Panic Attack' continue in the same vein Dream Theater have been on since 'Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence'. And while the musicianship is incredible, as expected with Dream Theater, it's keyboard player Jordan Rudess who really gets to shine on this album, with many of the songs being heavily synth-driven.

Riddled with Easter eggs and hidden references to the number eight, Dream Theater's 'Octavarium' sees the band continue to challenge themselves by trying new things and taking inspiration from different sources. It's a throwback to 70's and 80's progressive rock, whilst maintaining the bands own signature take on the metal subgenre they helped pioneer, thus making it a worthy addition to fans of both genres.


January 30, 2006
edited over 12 years ago
If you haven't heard anything by Dream Theater then this is definitely a great starter album, with all of their melodies blending so well together in their last couple of cd's. They have a style all their own that no band has matched in skill or variety of music to date. With John Petrucci on guitar and Mike Portnoy on drums, their isn't a better duo in music. This style of music is Progressive Metal, but has lighter tracks on this album. My all time favorite above all is Scenes From a Memory, which showcases solos for everyone and tells a story as you listen through the whole cd.