Dream Theater ‎– The Silent Man

EastWest ‎– 7567-95812-2
CD, Single

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 The Silent Man (LP Version)
Producer, Engineer, Mixed By – Duane Baron, John Purdell
2 Take The Time (Demo Version)
Engineer – Doug OberkircherEngineer [Assistant] – Steve ReginaMixed By – David Prater (2), Doug OberkircherProducer – David Prater (2)
3 Eve (Non Album Track)
Producer, Engineer, Mixed By – Duane Baron, John Purdell

Companies, etc.



"The Silent Man" is from the album Awake EastWest Records America.
"Take The Time" is from the album Images And Words ATCO.
"Eve" is a non-LP bonus track.

Track 3: Octa Music, Inc./Ytse Jams, Inc. adm. by WB Music Corp., ASCAP.

Mastered at Sterling Sound, NYC.

℗ & © 1994 Atlantic Recording Corporation for the United States and WEA International Inc. for the world outside of the United States.

Made in Germany by Warner Music Manufacturing Europe.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 7567-95812-2 8
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1-4): 756795812-2 WMME
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1-4): IFPI L012
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0581
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 05A7
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 0506
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 0592
  • Other (Inner Mould Ring, partially mirrored, Variant 4): ['Warner Music Group' logo] 27
  • Rights Society: GEMA / BIEM
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Label Code: LC 1557
  • Other (Distribution code): CA 773

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
PRCD 9117-2 Dream Theater The Silent Man(CD, Single, Promo) EastWest PRCD 9117-2 US 1994 Sell This Version



Add Review



July 3, 2018

Taken from the 1994 album ‘Awake’, ‘The Silent Man’ is a bit of an odd choice for a single. A soft, near-four minute acoustic ballad, it’s a great song when heard in context of the album, but alone, as a single, it doesn’t quite have the same impact.

It’s not a bad song as such, and on the album it actually works well as the third part of a trilogy titled ‘A Mind Beside Itself’. But it just seems dreary and dull as a single. There’s plenty of other material from the ‘Awake’ album that would have made more sense to use as promotional material, and a better representation of what the record has to offer.

Still, it’s an okay song I guess. A demo of ‘Take the Time’ is a welcome b-side, though it sounds near-identical to the finished product, making it something only die-hard fans would care about. And there’s ‘Eve’. A short instrumental which the band had jammed out to at gigs, but this actual studio recording doesn’t really do anything for me.

This one is a bit of rarity these days, and since Dream Theater is such a beloved cult band, it’s likely this is still sought after by collectors, and as such, that’s all this is now, a collector’s item. Nothing more, nothing less.