Drexciya ‎– Neptune's Lair

Tresor ‎– Tresor 129
2 × Vinyl, 12", 33 ⅓ RPM, Album


A1 Intro: Temple Of Dos De Aqua 1:00
A2 Andreaen Sand Dunes 6:15
A3 Running Out Of Space 1:54
A4 Universal Element 1:55
B1 Habitat 'O' Negative 5:16
B2 Funk Release Valve 3:06
B3 Organic Hydropoly Spores 2:07
B4 Draining Of The Tanks 2:43
C1 Surface Terrestrial Colonization 6:56
C2 Oxyplasmic Gyration Beam 4:17
D1 Triangular Hydrogen Strain 3:55
D2 Bottom Feeders 3:25
D3 C To The Power Of X + C To The Power Of X = MM = Unknown 2:35

Companies, etc.


  • Artwork [All Artwork And Graphics Perceived And Conceived By]Third Earth
  • Mastered ByCGB*


This is the original pressing. Repressed in May 2010.

Cut at Dubplates and Mastering, Berlin.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: TRESOR 129 A
  • Matrix / Runout: TRESOR 129 B
  • Matrix / Runout: TRESOR 129 C
  • Matrix / Runout: TRESOR 129 D
  • Barcode: 718755612965
  • Label Code: LC07572
  • Rights Society: GEMA

Other Versions (5 of 11) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
Tresor.129, Tresor10129LP Drexciya Neptune's Lair(2x12", Album, RP) Tresor, Tresor Tresor.129, Tresor10129LP Germany 2010 Sell This Version
TRESOR 129 Drexciya Neptune's Lair(2xLP, Album, Promo, W/Lbl) Tresor TRESOR 129 Germany 1999 Sell This Version
Tresor.129, Tresor10129LP Drexciya Neptune's Lair(2x12", Album, RP) Tresor, Tresor Tresor.129, Tresor10129LP Germany 2018 Sell This Version
5414165036074, TRESOR 10129D Drexciya Neptune's Lair(21xFile, FLAC, Album, RE) Tresor, Tresor 5414165036074, TRESOR 10129D 2010
TRESOR 10129D Drexciya Neptune's Lair(21xFile, ALAC, Album, RE) Tresor TRESOR 10129D Unknown


Reviews Show All 17 Reviews

Add Review



December 21, 2019

There is nothing more to say but this Record is Legendary


November 8, 2019
Happy 20 years Neptune's Lair ! rock on till infinity


February 16, 2019
YESSSS!!!!!! FINALLY!!!!! The latest repress appears to have been remastered and the sound is now as crisp as on CD!!! A HUGE thank you to Tresor here. This decision is of historical significance. Now I can´t wait for the Hydro doorways 12" to receive the same treatment. So happy.


April 29, 2017
edited over 4 years ago

The last great Drexciya LP. Mixing longer-form pieces with shorter interludes and electro bombs. Standouts include the vibrant, instantly memorable synth riff of Andrean Sand Dunes, the incessant punch of Funk Release Valve, and the organic pulsations of Oxyplasmic Gyration Beam. But really the whole album is worthwhile. It's a real shame that the following two Tresor Drexciya releases leant heavily on long long LONG tracks that really don't develop enough to justify their length. Sometimes tracks only need to be 2-3 minutes and Neptune's Lair - probably the best Drexciya album - proves that. A thoroughly essential melodic electro techno classic.


August 28, 2016

What can i say that already hasnt been said? Its drexciya, buy it!


August 30, 2014
Shame!!! The repress is has the same rubbish sound on vinyl as earler pressings do! I hate Tresor for what they have done to this album! It´s criminal, it´s such a shame! Shame on you!!!


June 25, 2011
edited over 10 years ago
The music is incredibly beautiful. However, I would strongly recommend to buy the CD, not the vinyl. I have both CD and vinyl and the mastering on the vinyl is a mere shadow of what you can hear on the CD. The fragile balance of the sounds on the CD is lost on the vinyl, the lower frequencies sound undifferentiated, and the percussions just don´t kick. The difference is astounding. The same is true, alas, for the "Hydro doorways" 12", which does also feature tracks from the CD version of "Neptune´s lair". For me as a drexciya lover and vinyl junkie this is an especially sad fact. I don´t know about the quality of the repress but I presume that the mastering will be the same.


February 9, 2011

Sorry. For me just overrated. Miles away from Harnessed the Storm. Most Songs are Sketches. I dont like it sorry...


April 28, 2006
edited over 15 years ago

Together with Grava 4 this must be the greatest Drexciya album. It features more, rather short, tracks than the other albums. Due to these short tracks Drexciya allowed themselves to expose a great diversity in electronic sounds to the world. It turned out great!

Neptune's Lair begins with a very dark intro, a good way to get in the mood. The first real track is 'Andreaen Sand Dunes' a great deep magical track to start things off. The same can be said about the last track 'C To The Power Of X + C To The Power Of X = MM = Unknown'. The rest of the album contains funky tracks like 'Funk Release Valve', crazy aquatic interdimensional tracks like 'Draining of the Tanks', warm soulfull tracks like 'Organic Hydropoly Spores' and dancefloor killers like 'Bottom Feeders'. Words really can't describe the greatness and quality of this album, it will only become clear if you actually listen to it. If you're NOT familiar with the Drexciyan sound, this album is very good way to start things off and get a taste of the great world that Drexciya represents.