Dryewater ‎– Southpaw

NuMusi Records ‎– NMRCD 003
CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered


1 Winterground
2 Trouble
3 Give Yourself Time To Live
4 Don't Let Her Sleep Too Long
5 Let Me Take You
6 Thunder
7 See Them Run
8 Revelation
9 Set Out On The River
10 After All (I Aint Sleepy)

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
NRS122 Dryewater Southpaw(LP, Album) J.T.B. Records NRS122 US 1974 Sell This Version
RRCD161 Dryewater Southpaw(CD, Album, RE, Unofficial) Radioactive (2) RRCD161 UK 2006 Sell This Version
none Dryewater Southpaw(LP, RE) Void Records (3) none US 1997 Sell This Version
NMRLP 003-1 Dryewater Southpaw(LP) Nu Musi Records NMRLP 003-1 Germany 2011 Sell This Version


Add Review



March 18, 2015
Dryewater's Southpaw album was privately released to little fanfare on the J.T.B. label in 1974. The North Carolina based four piece pressed just 500 copies of the album (fewer still with actual covers!) and the rarity value of this initial release has since increased as it's since become known that the band destroyed the copies they failed to sell at the time! Maybe they had higher expectations for the album, and this is justifiable, as in hindsight the ten original compositions show a very confident release by an obviously proficient line up. Strong rhythm guitar work forms the basis of most of the songs, but also evident is some melodic, perhaps slightly progressive keyboard work, that both underpins the occasional acid lead guitar solos and maintains the overall momentum of each performance. With a tight rhythm section and strong vocals too, this all makes for a rockin' rollercoaster ride. A fine example of the harder West Coast sound of the time.