Dust To Dust ‎– Sick

The Music Cartel ‎– TMC75CD
CD, Album


1 Rot 4:04
2 Sick 4:38
3 Think About It 3:44
4 High 5:14
5 Barely Breathing 4:52
6 Fix On 5:04
7 This Way 4:23
8 Pusher 3:42
9 Shame 5:04
10 Cursed 3:50
11 Supadupamachoman 3:58
12 Blue Sky Lie 3:54



After being dropped from Sanctuary Records in the wake of a lukewarmly received debut, Dust to Dust didn't call it quits. Instead, the Brooklyn group rallied through the adversity and created its own imprint, distributed through The Music Cartel, for Sick. The disc sees the band sounding more like Sevendust, most notably with the vocals of Rob Traynor that emulate the soulful yet severe style of Lajon Witherspoon, but at the same time you can inarguably hear post-Alice in Chains dynamics at work, whether on uptempo cuts such as "Think About It" or the harmonized vocals of "High," a power ballad with the emphasis on power. Despite these influences worn on their sleeves, the sophomore outing is a powerful statement for a couple of reasons. The influx of hip-hop rhythms that many of the band's peers succumbed to is nowhere to be found, replaced by percussion that actually rocks instead of struts. Such a return to metallic basics allows the riffs -- even the well-worn ones -- to breathe instead of fighting ostentatious offbeats, and it makes Sick heavier than some other discs that benefit from louder, grittier production. You can tell that Dust to Dust didn't put Sick out for any other reason than unfinished business, but the disc isn't desperate; it's a self-assured and confident outing from a band with nothing to lose.

Vocals, Bass, Guitars and Keys performed by Rob Traynor
Drums performed by Steve Tobin
Gutiar Lead in Rot, Pusher, Cursed & Supadupamachoman performed by Kenny Hickey
Guitar Lead in Sick performed by Stuart Berenson
Guitar Lead (in this case "Guitar Follow") in High, This Way & Shame performed by Rob Traynor
All songs Written, Produced, Mixed, Engineered, and Mastered by Rob Traynor

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 656953007520