Dvořák*, Wolfgang Sawallisch Conducts The Philharmonia Orchestra* ‎– "New World" Symphony / "Carnaval" Overture

World Record Club ‎– STE-500, World Record Club ‎– TE 500
Vinyl, LP, Album, Club Edition, Stereo


Symphony No.5 (9) In E Minor, Op.95 ("From The New World")
A1 First Movement: Adagio - Allegro Molto
A2 Second Movement: Largo
B1 Third Movement: Scherzo (Molto Vivace)
B2 Fourth Movement: Allegro Con Fuoco
B3 "Carnaval Overture" Op.92

Companies, etc.



Recorded on 21st & 24th February 1958.

Australian WRC 1st pressing, sourced from original stampers and featuring unique sleeve art. Mono and stereo versions have same number on back of sleeve (TE 500) - the mono version has "TE - 500" on beige 'strobe' label, while the stereo has "STE-500" on green 'strobe' label. The stereo was issued with a large "S" sticker on the front of the sleeve.

This was the first in a "supplementary" series of new recordings of previously-released works - hence the new numbering sequence: regular releases in the TE series only reached 249 in mid-1961. By late 1965, the gap was closing, with the regular series at 379: at this point, all releases (except for those on The Connoisseur Series and The Record Society labels) were given numbers in the 4000 series.

330 Flinders Lane Melbourne
134 Castlereagh St Sydney
260 Adelaide St Brisbane
62 Pulteney St Adelaide
Barnett's Buildings Council Ave Perth

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1 Label): YAX87
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2 Label): YAX88