E-Man (7) ‎– E-Man



The Difference 3:57
De Du Da Da Di 3:11
The Upland (Part 1) 1:58
The Upland (Part 2) 0:55
Great Nations 3:50
Jeg Er Moderne 3:48
Nibsy The Newsboy 3:39
Heaven And Hell 4:32
The Mission 3:28

Versions (5)

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
LIKV 4025 E-Man (7) E-Man(Cass, Album) Likvidér LIKV 4025 Norway 1984 Sell This Version
none E-Man (7) E-Man(14xFile, WAV) Not on Label (Geir Jenssen Self-released) none Norway 2009
HRCD002 E-Man (7) E-Man(CDr, Album, Promo, RE) Hommage Records HRCD002 Norway 2009 Sell This Version
TTW#10 E-Man (7) E-Man(Cass, Album, Ltd, RE) The Tapeworm TTW#10 UK 2009 Sell This Version
HRLP002 E-Man (7) E-Man(LP, Album, Ltd) Hommage Records HRLP002 Norway 2009 Sell This Version



Add Review



December 31, 2009
referencing E-Man, LP, Album, Ltd, HRLP002
E-MAN was the first project of Norwegian musician Geir Jenssen (electronics, well-known from being in Bel Canto and especially Biosphere) with guest vocalists Ragnar "Spiss" Larsen and Frank Jensen, and Per Martinsen on additional electronics. They only released one cassette on Likvider in 1984 (LIKV 4025) with tracks recorded in 1983/84. Originally, it was meant to be a C-46, but it was re-edited to a C-30, meaning four cuts had to be left off. These tracks are now back on the list, and the LP also features an unreleased early bonus track. For various reasons one can say that E-MAN was the Norwegian twin-brother of Belgian project Twilight Ritual (and its related projects Linear Movement and Autumn). First because of the instrumentation: Geir used a Roland TR-808 with sequencers and second, Geir did not restrict himself to (synth)pop structures but added already much soul and atmosphere into the compositions. Already the first track “The Difference” sounds perfectly like the best synthpop moments of Linear Movement. “De Du Da Da Di” has very clear Kraftwerk and Cybotron (Juan Atkins) influences, too. “The Upland” (parts I to IV) or “Hosono” are Twilight Ritual tracks par excellence. Also featured and finally available is the track “Great Nations” which was already well-known in the minimal electronics circles, a masterpiece of simple electropop, and very very similar to Oppenheimer Analysis. And so happy that also now “Jeg Er Moderne” is available on vinyl, one of the best electropop tracks ever ever ever – listen to that sequence and melodies, oh Anna is melting away every time she hears that song. Then equally great and again Linear Movement-like “Nibsy the Newsboy” … Remastered by Geir Jenssen and Veronica Vasicka, this (re-)release was so over-due! If you like any of the aforementioned bands, then there is no way that you could pass on this. Norway, 12 points from Germany! FYI: Also recently released as MC on The Tapeworm (TTW#10).