Eddy Grant ‎– Eddy Grant

Torpedo ‎– TOL 500
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 My Queen Tonight
A2 Why Can't We See
A3 Stone Cold Cat
A4 Where Are You Going To My Friends
A5 Hello Africa
B1 Baby You're Moving Right
B2 Bad Bad Brother
B3 Shame On You
B4 Nobody's Got Time
B5 I Wish I Knew The Answer

Companies, etc.


Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ICE 1000 Eddy Grant Hello Africa(LP) ICE ICE 1000 Trinidad & Tobago 1975 Sell This Version
ICE 1000 Eddy Grant Hello Africa(LP) ICE ICE 1000 Canada 1975 Sell This Version


Add Review



November 8, 2016

Eddy Grant – “Hello Africa” on Ice Records

This brilliant musician all too often gets unjustly put into the “one-hit-wonder” category by many casual listeners. If you only know Eddy Grant as the man who scored a smash international hit with the early 80s synth boogie “Electric Avenue”, then you are missing out on one hell of a back catalog.

Grant was born in Guyana, but raised in the UK, and first came to be known as the guitarist, songwriter, and leader of pop-soul mod rockers The Equals, who had several big hits throughout the late sixties (more on them in later posts). That group carries a legacy of its own, but Grant was a busy man who used his success with the Equals as a springboard to also cultivate the sounds of “home” for the UK’s huge population of Caribbean immigrants.

He is a true innovator, mixing and matching styles from the Caribbean and elsewhere - soca, rock, calypso, reggae, funk, folk, soul, and everything in between - to create his very own sound. “Electric Avenue” came on the tail-end of a long line of original dancefloor killers that Grant had produced under his own name, as well as for the Equals and many others. He formed his own label, Ice Records, to cater to his prolific, constantly growing body of work.

This LP, “Hello Africa”, was the first released under his own name and came out on Ice Records, as well as the British-based mostly reggae label, Torpedo (a big one for collectors of early UK reggae). Grant is a one-man-band and turns out some stellar music with very little help from any other musicians. The album plays a bit like some of the later Equals LPs, a strong mix of rock and funk, with a dash of island flavor, and some very interesting production flourishes.

There’s lots of good tracks here, each one a little different from the others – the title track is a happy soca celebration of the motherland; “Baby You’re Moving Right” is funky rock song driven by Grant’s trademark scorching fuzz guitar; there’s the rollicking blues rock of “Why Can’t We See”; “Stone Cold Cat” is dancefloor funk; “My Queen Tonight” sounds like a New Orleans jump boogie complete with riffing horns in a Fats Domino fashion; things get a little folky on the verses of “I Wish I Knew The Answer”, broken up with an energetic soca influenced instrumental section; “Shame on You” starts with Grant’s trippy slide guitar and moves into some territory that will be familiar to folks that might know the sound he came up with for a lot of his 80’s hits (“Romancing the Stone” anyone?); he gets into a Riot Going On-era Sly sound with “Where Are You Going To My Friends”; the confessional “Bad Bad Brother” is pretty much a straight rock-soul ballad; the album’s gem has to be the massive and relentless funk jam that is “Nobody’s Got Time” – I challenge you to NOT move while listening to this tune! This album is a potpourri of funky goodness.

Grant is a genius songwriter, and the limitations of his voice don’t even matter because he carries the songs with such ultimate conviction. And the fact that he recorded this LP almost entirely by himself makes it all the more stunning.