Einstürzende Neubauten ‎– The Jewels

Potomak ‎– 919782, Indigo (2) ‎– 919782
CD, Album, Enhanced, Reissue, Ecolbook Packaging

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Ich Komme Davon
Arranged By [Strings], Cello – Jan Schade*Electric Guitar [Bowed], Effects [Trigger] – N.U.*Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Performer [T-beams], Arranged By [Strings] – B.B.*Percussion [Amplified Metal Spring] – R.M.*Percussion [Floor Tam] – A.H.*Viola – Stefano MacorViolin – Claudia GubischVoice [Mouth Performance] – J.A.*
2 Mei Ro
Bass Guitar – A.H.*Effects [Wire Electronic Treatments] – N.U.*Percussion [Metal Plate Stomps] – J.A.*Percussion [Wire], Effects [Electronic Treatments] – B.B.*Performer [Chamber Fountain, Keys, Installation] – R.M.*
3 26 Riesen
Effects [Electric Drill Under Blankets] – N.U.*Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Drums [Motorized Giant Foil Drum Installation] – B.B.*Percussion [Metal, Tank] – R.M.*Performer [Cooling Fins, Harmonist] – A.H.*Performer [E-bow] – J.A.*
4 Hawcubite
Effects [Indian Tuning Devices], Voice [Spoken] – J.A.*Percussion [Blue Bin, Metal Disc], Drums [Big Drum], Timpani – R.M.*Vibraphone, Piano [Clavichord] – B.B.*Voice [Screams] – N.U.*Voice [Spoken] – A.H.*
5 Die Libellen
Bass [Upright], Mandolin – A.H.*Percussion [Amplified Bass Spring], Performer [Bull-roarer] – N.U.*Performer [Tam-man] – J.A.*Performer [Ventilator, Jet Turbine, Metal Strips] – R.M.*
6 Jeder Satz Mit Ihr Hallt Nach
Organ [Hammond] – A.H.*Performer [Bellow] – N.U.*Performer [Motorised Metal Plate Installation] – J.A.*Performer [Varispeed Vaporizing Water Drips, Steam, Hotplate] – B.B.*Vibraphone, Performer [Swinging Microphones], Percussion [Muted Large Phythagorean Tubes, Metal Plate] – R.M.*
7 Epharisto
Bass [Upright], Mandolin, Guitar [Pedal Steel] – A.H.*Percussion [Metal Rods], Performer [Thirsty Animal], Backing Vocals – N.U.*Performer [Fruitbowl And Vibrator Installation], Effects [Electronically Treated Ufo-discs], Percussion [Tank], Backing Vocals – R.M.*Performer [Noodle, Soul Kiss], Backing Vocals – J.A.*Recorded By [Assistant], Mixed By [Assistant] – Marko Paschke*Vocoder, Percussion [Bass Spring], Performer [Glove And Drill] – B.B.*
8 Robert Fuzzo
Electric Guitar – N.U.*Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Drums [Flight-case Kick Drum] – R.M.*Melodica, Performer [Motor], Effects [Electronic Treatments] – J.A.*Performer [Metal-funnel And Marble-sphere] – B.B.*Xylophone – A.H.*
9 Magyar Energia
Percussion [Amplified Large Metal Plate], Choir – A.H.*Percussion [Metal Plates], Choir – N.U.*Performer [Amplified Bass-piano-string-chitarra], Drums [Flight-case Kick Drum], Choir – R.M.*Tape [Cassette Tapes], Choir – J.A.*Vocoder, Performer [Air Compressor Pistol And Wall], Effects [Electronic Manipulations], Choir – B.B.*Voice [Hungarian] – Mari Cantu
10 Vicky
Performer [Broom] – N.U.*Performer [Internet Audio Samples] – J.A.*Performer [Jet Turbine, Car Tire], Percussion [Metal Plate] – R.M.*Piano [Clavichord], Voice [Synthetic], Effects [Flanger] – B.B.*Voice, Voice [Synthetic] – A.H.*
11 Ansonsten Dostojevsky
Bass Drum [Amplified Spring Bass Drum], Pipe [Plastic Pipes] – R.M.*Percussion [Percussion Electric Guitar], Performer [Brushes] – A.H.*Performer [Fruit Bowl, Raisins] – N.U.*Xylophone – J.A.*
12 Die Ebenen (Werden Nicht Vermischt)
Drums [Gope Drums], Percussion [Rimshots], Handclaps – A.H.*Percussion [Aluminium Sticks], Handclaps – B.B.*Performer [Air Compressor Pistol, Bottles], Clavinet [Treated], Handclaps – R.M.*Performer [Indian Electric Toy, Jam-man], Bells [Finger Bells], Handclaps – J.A.*Piano [Upright], Performer [Engraving Stylus], Handclaps – N.U.*
13 Am I Only Jesus?
Backing Vocals [Additional] – Caroline Heinzmann, Danielle De PicciottoGuitar [Pedal Steel], Backing Vocals – J.A.*Guitar, Piano – B.B.*Percussion [Microphone Percussion], Effects [Microphone Treatments] – N.U.*Piano – A.H.*Zither, Performer [Glass Board] – R.M.*
14 Bleib
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Performer [Twigs] – R.M.*Percussion [Amplified Large Metal Plate] – J.A.*Percussion [Amplified Metal Spring], Glockenspiel – N.U.*Performer [Field Recordings, Megaphone], Electric Guitar [Slide] – B.B.*Piano [String-bowed] – A.H.*
15 I Kissed Glenn Gould
Horns [Signal Horns], Performer [Air Compressor Pistol, Metal Bands] – R.M.*Lyrics By – Alexander HackePercussion [Circular Saw Blades], Vocals [Vocal Treatments] – B.B.*Performer [Radio, Thirsty Animal], Effects [Electronic Treatments], Vocals – J.A.*Piano [Clavichord] – N.U.*Vocals, Vocals [Vocal Treatments], Performer [Resonating Strings] – A.H.*
Video Acht Lösungen
Cameraman – Ben Kasulke, Danielle De Picciotto, Marco PaschkeExecutive-Producer – Erin ZhuFilm Director [Directed By] – Blixa BargeldFilm Producer [Pre-production], Coordinator [Film Team] – Danielle De PicciottoVideo Editor [Edited By] – Ian Williamson (3)

Companies, etc.



Reissue of the online release Jewels which was only available for Phase III subscribers to download from EN's homepage in 2007. The Quicktime movie Acht Lösungen is exclusive to this release.

Comes in 48-page hardcover booklet sleeve with an obi-stripe including lyrics in German and English.
Recorded and mixed at The Bunker in Berlin 2006.

Published by Freibank Musikverlage / BMG Publishing Service.
Distributed by Indigo.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4047179197823
  • Matrix / Runout: docdatamedia INDIGO 91978-2
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LL88
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 5223
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 5231
  • Label Code: LC 07149

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
91978-2 Einstürzende Neubauten The Jewels(CD, Album, Enh, Jew) Potomak, Indigo (2) 91978-2 Germany 2008 Sell This Version
none Einstürzende Neubauten Jewels(15xFile, MP3, WAV, Album) Potomak none Germany 2007
Fünfundvierzig 200 Einstürzende Neubauten The Jewels(LP, Album) FünfUndVierzig, Potomak Fünfundvierzig 200 Germany 2008 Sell This Version
none Einstürzende Neubauten The Jewels(CD, Album, Enh, Promo) Potomak none 2008 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



September 16, 2015
edited over 2 years ago
A very interesting, experimental album from EN. There are EN albums which is stronger in melodies, but the artistic, very good designed sounds compensate us. I wanna mention the song "Die Ebenen werden nicht vermischt" which is a satanist techno song. (Yes there's no satanist techno, but Neubauten did it !) Or mention the song "Magyar Energia" is based on an interesting ambient effect. Or "Ich komme davon" and "26 Riesen" are based on weird rythms and chant.


September 16, 2008
What the hell ? Taken from the supporterspage Phase III :

"a newly recorded digital download of a miniature track (so-called "Jewels") per month for 12 months, which will form a digital-only album that will not be otherwise available"

And the CD version even contains a video? I m very disappointed, Mr Blixa. Without the "real" supporters EN would already have splitted some years ago. I do love EN music, i did accept your failures, but i don't & won't accept your lies.

About the music : Simular to the Tabula Rasa album, but way softer in sound, more downtempo, and more poetic in words, so, yes, more accessable. Too (cheap) poppy sometimes. That doesn't mean it is a bad album. Its rather peaceful easy.