Eldanka ‎– Rusty Treasures

Eldanka Music ‎– ELCD2
CD, Stereo


1 SUP Rider 3:08
2 Paranta Beach 2:33
3 Slap Me 3:17
4 The Promise 3:16
5 Treasure 2:10
6 Threnody For My Pet Pony 3:10
7 Bend Or Stretch 3:35
8 Dumb Step 2:11
9 SF Surf 2:45
10 November 4:51
11 Jopo-The First Ride 2:40
12 Springfields 3:45


21st century instrumental surf-rock from Finland's Eldanka.
visit Eldanka on bandcamp: https://eldanka.bandcamp.com/album/rusty-treasures

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6430026753965


Add Review



August 13, 2019

Finland continues giving the music world great guitarists who create equally great instrumental guitar albums. In the spirit of the 1960s and specifically, the sounds of U.K. guitar heroes The Shadows, as well as the upbeat West Coast instro sound of surf legends The Ventures, Rusty Treasures is a fantastic showcase for the Finnish band Eldanka and their talented guitarist / composer Mika Jämsä. The liner notes say the album, released in 2018, was recorded live in the studio in the band's native town of Toholampi Finland in 2017. Featuring a dozen original instrumentals, the accent here is on the superbly recorded sound, featuring excellent group interplay. Speaking about the mix of instrumental Finnish traditional music, rock, folk, jazz and classical on Rusty Treasures, Mika explains, "In my music you can hear all the music styles I’ve gnawed on. I try to do music I’d like to listen to myself. The only restriction is that it's played with simple, traditional vintage instruments. Instrumental music melodies must be interesting and everything has to support that. Certainly we try to arrange pieces that are interesting to play." A number of players assist Mika, including his Eldanka bandmates Rasmus Tammik (rhythm guitar), Mauri Haapamäki (bass) and Janne Torvikoski (drums). Featuring 12 tracks clocking in at 37 minutes, Rusty Treasures is the coolest sounding album yet by Finland’s finest instrumental rockers Eldanka.