Electric Light Orchestra ‎– A New World Record

Jet Records ‎– UAG 30017, Jet Records ‎– UA-LA 679, Jet Records ‎– JET LP 20
Vinyl, LP, Album, Embossed Cover


A1 Tightrope 5:00
A2 Telephone Line 4:38
A3 Rockaria! 3:12
A4 Mission (A World Record) 4:24
B1 So Fine 3:55
B2 Livin' Thing 3:31
B3 Above The Clouds 2:16
B4 Do Ya 3:45
B5 Shangri-La 5:34

Companies, etc.


  • Arranged By [Orchestra And Choral Arrangements]Jeff Lynne, Louis Clark, Richard Tandy
  • Art DirectionRia Lewerke
  • Artwork [Very Special Effects]Bob Hickson
  • Cello [Barcus Berry], Effects [Maestro Echoplex]Melvyn Gale
  • Cello [Barcus Berry], Effects [Systech Phaser, Mutron III, Mutron Phasor, Maestro Echoplex]Hugh McDowell
  • Conductor [Orchestra]Louis Clark
  • Design [Cover], Illustration, PhotographyKosh*
  • Drums [Slingerland], Synthesizer [Mini Moog Drum], Percussion, Backing VocalsBev Bevan
  • Electric Piano [Wurlitzer Electric Piano EP200], Synthesizer [Mini Moog, Micro Moog, SLM Concert Spectrum], Electric Guitar [Electra x320, Gibson SG Custom], Clavinet [Hohner], Grand Piano [Yamaha C7], Mellotron [M400], Effects [Morley R.W.V. Pedals, Maestro Phase Shifter], Percussion, Backing Vocals, Effects [Systech Flanger]Richard Tandy
  • Engineer [Cherokee]Duane Scott
  • Engineer [De Lane Lea]Dick Plant, John Richards
  • Engineer [Musicland]Mack (2)
  • Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar, Slide Guitar, Guitar [Gibson Les Paul, L5S, Marauder, Ovation Legend, Ovation Pacemaker], Percussion, Electric Piano [Wurlitzer EP200 Piano]Jeff Lynne
  • Mastered ByNura* (tracks: A), Arun* (tracks: B)
  • Music By [All], Lyrics By [All]Jeff Lynne
  • Other [Hot Pies] – Anna, Francois
  • Performer [ELO]Bev Bevan, Hugh McDowell, Jeff Lynne, Kelly Groucutt, Melvyn Gale, Mik Kaminski, Richard Tandy
  • Photography By [Portrait]Moshe Brakha
  • ProducerJeff Lynne
  • Violin [Barcus Berry], Effects [Maestro Echoplex], Effects [Univox Univibe]Mik Kaminski
  • Vocals, Bass Guitar [Gibson G3], Percussion, Backing VocalsKelly Groucutt


Released in a laminated embossed sleeve with paper inner sleeve containing the song lyrics.

Cover: ©℗ MCMLXXVI United Artists Records Group, Inc.
Label: ℗1976 United Artists Music And Records Group Inc.
Inner: Copyright for the U.K. © 1976 United Artists Music Ltd. and Jet Music Ltd.

Recorded and Mixed at Musicland Studios - Munich, Germany
Orchestra and Choir Recorded at De Lane Lea Studios - Wembley, England
Edits and Things: Cherokee Studios - Los Angeles, California

Made in England

Catalog numbers:
Back cover, spine & labels: UAG 30017
Back cover: UA-LA 679
Labels: JET LP 20

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Other (Back Cover): E.C.G./ST/76
  • Other (Inner Sleeve): E.C.G./GL/76
  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side A): UAG 30017A
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, stamped Side A (var. 1)): UAG 30017 A-1U
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, stamped Side A (var. 2)): UAG 30017 A-2U
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, stamped Side B): UAG 30017 B-1U
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched Side A (var. 1)): ARUN
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched Side A (var. 2)): NURA
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched Side B): ARUN

Other Versions (5 of 125) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
JET LP 200 Electric Light Orchestra A New World Record(LP, Album) Jet Records JET LP 200 Europe 1976 Sell This Version
JET LP 200 Electric Light Orchestra A New World Record(LP, Album, RE) Jet Records JET LP 200 Spain 1978 Sell This Version
UA-LA679-G Electric Light Orchestra A New World Record(LP, Album) United Artists Records UA-LA679-G Venezuela 1976 Sell This Version
JETLP 200 Electric Light Orchestra A New World Record(LP, Album, RE) Jet Records JETLP 200 UK 1978 Sell This Version
UA-LA679-G Electric Light Orchestra A New World Record(LP, Album, Emb) United Artists Records UA-LA679-G Canada 1976 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



May 2, 2016
It's tragic how the one perfect way of capturing physical sound is also susceptible to physical degeneration. I feel like the imperfections in the audio actually add to this particular song, however.
Here i want to share one more record. Franky Zapata Set a New World Record for Hover Board Travel http://attractivereview.com/2016/05/02/franky-zapata-set-a-new-world-record-for-hover-board-travel/


April 26, 2013

A milestone in music history. Masterpiece.