Ella Fitzgerald ‎– Basin Street Blues

Vanstory ‎– VS 3406
Vanstory Board – Jazz 3
Vinyl, LP, Compilation


A1 Lover Come Back To Me 1:57
A2 Basin Street Blues 3:04
A3 Starlit Hour 3:04
A4 We Can't Go On This Way 2:56
A5 Starway To The Stars 3:08
A6 Is There Somebody Else 2:32
B1 A Tisket - A Tasket 2:30
B2 Sing Song Swing 2:40
B3 That Old Black Magic 2:27
B4 Sugar Blues 2:59
B5 It's A Blue World 3:39
B6 Flying Home 2:27

Companies, etc.


(P) 1984 U.M.I.P.

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
2M056-64868 Ella Fitzgerald Lover Come Back To Me(LP, Mono) The Jazz Club 2M056-64868 France 1982 Sell This Version
32 165-3 Ella Fitzgerald Lover Come Back To Me(LP, Comp, Mono, Club, Gat) Jazz Selection (4) 32 165-3 Germany Unknown Sell This Version


Add Review



May 9, 2017

I discovered this album in excellent condition in a Lexington, KY, side street antiques and music shop. The dynamics and energy projected by this clean French pressed disque are arresting! There is no applause, but the musical energy of the band behind Ella at her best suggests a live big band performance. I do wish there were liner notes describing the dates, venues, and players, but then, a true Ella officianado would likely know. Really, you can not go wrong with this compilation of Ella at her peak...if you come across it, get it and enjoy the power of the band(s) and the charm of Ella at her best!