Elton John ‎– The Very Best Of Elton John

The Rocket Record Company ‎– none, Mercury ‎– 0600753511329
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation, 180 Gram

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Your Song 3:58
A2 Rocket Man (I Think It Is Going To Be A Long, Long Time) 4:40
A3 Honky Cat 5:10
A4 Crocodile Rock 3:52
A5 Daniel 3:50
A6 Goodbye Yellow Brick Road 3:13
A7 Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting 4:50
B1 Candle In The Wind 3:47
B2 Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me 5:38
B3 Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
Written-By – J. Lennon/P. McCartney*
B4 Philadelphia Freedom 5:19
B5 Someone Saved My Life Tonight 6:42
C1 Don't Go Breaking My Heart
Featuring [Uncredited] – Kiki DeeWritten-By – Ann Orson, Carte Blanche
C2 Bennie And The Jets 5:25
C3 Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word 3:43
C4 Song For Guy
Producer – Clive Franks
C5 Part Time Love
Producer – Clive FranksWritten-By – Gary Osborne
C6 Blue Eyes
Written-By – Gary Osborne
C7 I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues
Written-By – Davey Johnstone
D1 I'm Still Standing 3:01
D2 Kiss The Bride 3:52
D3 Sad Songs (Say So Much) 4:07
D4 Whispers 5:29
D5 Nikita 4:53
D6 Sacrifice 5:07
D7 You Gotta Love Someone
Producer – Don Was



Includes a voucher to download MP3 version of the album.
Gatefold cover.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 600753511329

Other Versions (5 of 103) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
846 947-1 Elton John The Very Best Of Elton John(2xLP, Comp, Gat) The Rocket Record Company 846 947-1 UK 1990 Sell This Version
846 947-1 Elton John The Very Best Of Elton John(2xLP, Comp) The Rocket Record Company, Phonogram 846 947-1 Portugal 1990 Sell This Version
846 948-4, 846 949-4 Elton John The Very Best Of Elton John(2xCass, Comp) The Rocket Record Company, The Rocket Record Company 846 948-4, 846 949-4 Thailand 1990 Sell This Version
140 Elton John The Very Best Of Elton John Vol. 1(Cass, Comp, Unofficial) Audio Max 140 Ukraine 2003 Sell This Version
846 947-4 Elton John The Very Best Of Elton John(2xCass, Comp) The Rocket Record Company 846 947-4 Portugal 1990 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



March 25, 2018
edited about 1 year ago

The music contained on these two 180g slabs of vinyl are all five star songs from Elton. All killer no filler as they say. Now to the presentation. This reissue of the best selling 1990 compilation that covers most of Elton's hits from the early 70's to 1990 should have been a celebration but comes off as looking like a spruced up budget compilation made for bulk sale in supermarkets & certain book chain / department stores.

Firstly to the reproduced artwork. The gate-fold cover seems to be a good reprint with no obvious signs of duplication. I've never owned this set on vinyl before but I've made some comparisons with the first generation cd artwork and all looks good and nicely detailed. The printed inner sleeves are a different matter altogether. They are most obviously sourced from copied images. The lyrics are blurry and give the impression of cheap printing or low resolution scanning. They're so badly printed I cannot easily read them.

But what is most unbelievable is how much music is crammed on to the records (12 tracks on record one and fourteen on record two). I know that doesn't sound like a lot of content but we're talking EJ here not The Beatles and a number of the tracks on this compilation run well past the five minute mark. They initially sound ok considering how fine the grooves would need to be to fit it all on each side (industry standard is between 16 and 20 minutes for optimum fidelity, 24 minutes at the absolute maximum, anything over that and you get what is called groove distortion). These four sides of music ALL have well over 25 minutes on them. Side four fares the worst running to nearly 32 minutes with some very noticeable distortion by the time you get towards the final tracks. Side two is pretty bad as well.

This really should have been a three record set. That of course means new recut lacquers & pressing plates and I know it would've put the price up but surely in this day of a vinyl resurgence, quality is a far better option than value for money. What a complete waste of plastic pressing this on 180g vinyl. Personally I'd be happy with a three record set on thinner records. It would no doubt sound better than these jam packed grooves. At least the package includes a coupon allowing a free download in 320k mp3 of both records which will probably sound better than the vinyl on this disappointing re-release from Universal.

"When All Hope Is Gone, Sad Songs Say So Much.."