Elvis Costello ‎– My Aim Is True

Demon Records ‎– DPAM 1
CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Welcome To The Working Week 1:22
2 Miracle Man 3:31
3 No Dancing 2:39
4 Blame It On Cain 2:49
5 Alison 3:21
6 Sneaky Feelings 2:09
7 (The Angels Wanna Wear My) Red Shoes 2:47
8 Less Than Zero
Organ – Stan Shaw
9 Mystery Dance
Bass – Nick LowePiano, Percussion [Drumstick] – Elvis*, Nick*
10 Pay It Back 2:33
11 I'm Not Angry 2:57
12 Waiting For The End Of The World 3:22
13 Watching The Detectives
Bass – Andrew BodnarDrums – Steve GouldingPiano, Organ – Steve Nieve
Extended Play
14 Radio Sweetheart
Bass – Nick Lowe
15 Stranger In The House 3:01
16 Imagination (Is A Powerful Deceiver)
Bass – Mich KentDrums – Ian Powling, Malcolm Dennis (2)Guitar – Steve HazelhurstPercussion – Dickie FaulknerPerformer – Ken Smith (4), Mike Whelan
17 Mystery Dance 2:13
18 Cheap Reward 2:15
19 Jump Up 2:06
20 Wave A White Flag 1:53
21 Blame It On Cain 3:30
22 Poison Moon 1:53



White writing on black circular sticker, on front of case, reads: NEW EDITION Remastered and now featuring "Extended Play" bands. See tracklisting for details.

My Aim Is True was recorded at Pathway Studios, Islington in a total of 24 hours' studio time and at a cost of £2000. As I still had my 'day-job,' these sessions had to take place on 'sick days' and holidays during late 1976 and early 1977.

Both "Radio Sweetheart" and "Stranger In The House" two of only three "out-takes" from My Aim Is True (the other, a version of "Living in Paradise", is also lost).

Track 16 features the band Flip City. There is no personnel listing for this session, but it is included with thanks to all long-term serving band members: Mich Kent (Bass), Malcolm Dennis or Ian Powling (Drums), Steve Hazelhurst (Guitar) and Dickie Faulkner (Percussion). (Also Mike Whelan and Ken Smith)."

Issued under licence from Riviera Global Record Productions Ltd.
Published by Plangent Visions Music, Inc. (ASCAP).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 014757 570018
  • Matrix / Runout: DPAM1 01
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L135
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 0470

Other Versions (5 of 137) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SEEZ 3 Elvis Costello My Aim Is True(LP, Album, Pin) Stiff Records SEEZ 3 UK 1977 Sell This Version
R2 74285 Elvis Costello My Aim Is True(CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Comp, RM) Rhino Records (2) R2 74285 US 2001 Sell This Version
CK 35037 Elvis Costello My Aim Is True(CD, Album, RE) Columbia CK 35037 US Unknown Sell This Version
6.23318 AO, SEEZ 3 Elvis Costello My Aim Is True(LP, Album, Blu) Stiff Records, Stiff Records 6.23318 AO, SEEZ 3 Germany 1977 Sell This Version
SEEZ 3 Elvis Costello My Aim Is True(LP, Album, TP) Stiff Records SEEZ 3 UK 1977 Sell This Version