Elvis Costello ‎– Spike

Warner Bros. Records ‎– 925 848-4, Warner Bros. Records ‎– WX 238C
Cassette, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 ...This Town...
Acoustic Guitar – T Bone Burnett*Bass [Rickenbacker] – Paul McCartneyDrums [Electric] – Ralph ForbesDrums [Extra Snare Drum] – Jim KeltnerGlockenspiel, Bells – Micheal Blair*Guitar [Rickenbacker 12-string] – Roger McGuinnGuitar [Rickenbacker 6-string], Guitar [Gretsch], Guitar [Spider], Acoustic Guitar, Organ, Piano, Melodica, Tambourine, Vocals – D.P.A. MacManus*Maracas [Lunge] – Cait O'Riordan
A2 Let Him Dangle
Bass – Jerry ScheffDrums – Jerry MarottaDrums [Chinese Drum], Percussion [Oldsmobile Hubcap] – Micheal Blair*Guitar – Marc RibotPiano – Benmont Tench
A3 Deep Dark Truthful Mirror
Drums [Parade Drum], Tambourine – Micheal Blair*Drums [Snare Drum], Cymbal [Chinese] – Jim KeltnerGrand Piano – Allen ToussaintSaxophone [Baritone] – Roger Lewis (2)Saxophone [Tenor] – Kevin Harris (4)Sousaphone – Kirk JosephTrumpet – Efrem Towns, Gregory Davis
A4 Veronica
Acoustic Guitar – T Bone Burnett*Bass [Hofner] – Paul McCartneyDrums – Jerry MarottaElectric Piano, Organ [Chamberlain] – Mitchell FroomGuitar – E.C.*Piano, Spinet [Baldwin] – Benmont TenchTimpani [Tympani], Glockenspiel – Micheal Blair*Written By – McCartney/MacManus
A5 God's Comic
Acoustic Guitar [Spanish], Banjo – Marc RibotBass [Hofner] – E.C.*Double Bass, Cello – Buell Niedlinger*Drums [Snare] – Jim KeltnerOrgan [Chamberlain], Harmonium [Indian] – Mitchell FroomXylophone, Marimba, Drums [Snare], Performer [Magic Table] – Micheal Blair*
A6 Chewing Gum
Clavinet [Hohner] – Benmont TenchDrums – Willie Green (2)Guitar – E.C.*, Marc RibotPercussion [Metal Pipe] – Micheal Blair*Saxophone [Baritone], Saxophone [Soprano] – Roger Lewis (2)Saxophone [Tenor] – Kevin Harris (4)Sousaphone – Kirk JosephTrumpet – Efrem Towns, Gregory Davis
A7 Tramp The Dirt Down
Bouzouki, Acoustic Guitar – Donal LunnyDouble Bass – Jerry ScheffDrums – Pete ThomasFiddle – Steve WickhamHarmonium [Indian] – Mitchell FroomSounds [Distant Sound] – Marc RibotTambourine, Glockenspiel – Micheal Blair*Tin Whistle [Low Whistle], Bagpipes [Uileann] – Davy Spillane
B1 Stalin Malone
Bass Drum – Lionel BatisteDrums [Snare] – Jenell MarshallSaxophone [Baritone], Saxophone [Soprano] – Roger Lewis (2)Saxophone [Tenor] – Kevin Harris (4)Sousaphone – Kirk JosephTrombone – Charles JosephTrumpet – Efrem Towns, Gregory Davis
B2 Satellite
Bass – T-Bone WolkDrums [Electric] – Ralph ForbesDrums [Snare], Tom Tom – Jim KeltnerGuitar, Piano [Bass] – E.C.*Harmony Vocals – Chrissie HyndeOrgan [Chamberlain], Organ – Mitchell FroomPiano, Spinet [Baldwin] – Benmont TenchVibraphone, Marimba, Timpani [Tympani], Glockenspiel, Bells – Micheal Blair*
B3 Pads, Paws And Claws
Bass – Jerry ScheffBass [Trigger] – T Bone Burnett*Drums – Jerry MarottaGuitar [Sub-aqua], Acoustic Guitar, Bass [Hofner], Piano – E.C.*Guitar, Guitar ["alligator"] – Marc RibotMarimba, Performer [Martian-dog Bark] – Micheal Blair*Written By – McCartney/MacManus
B4 Baby Plays Around
Acoustic Guitar, Organ [Hammond Bass Pedals], Bells – E.C.*Organ [Distant] – Mitchell FroomWritten By – O'Riordan/MacManus
B5 Miss MacBeth
Bagpipes [Uileann] – Davy SpillaneBouzouki, Bouzouki [Electric], Bodhrán – Donal LunnyDrums – Pete ThomasDrums [Snare] – Jerry MarottaFiddle – Steve WickhamMandolin, Acoustic Guitar, Guitar – E.C.*Organ [Chamberlain], Electric Piano [Wurlitzer], Organ – Mitchell FroomPercussion [Crash-box], Glockenspiel, Tambourine, Temple Bells, Drums [Snare] – Micheal Blair*Saxophone [Baritone] – Roger Lewis (2)Saxophone [Tenor] – Kevin Harris (4)Sousaphone – Kirk JosephTrombone – Charles JosephTrumpet – Efrem Towns, Gregory Davis
B6 Any King's Shilling
Acoustic Guitar – E.C.*Bagpipes [Uileann], Tin Whistle [Low Whistle] – Davy SpillaneBodhrán – Christy MooreBouzouki – Donal LunnyDouble Bass – Buell Niedlinger*Fiddle – Frankie Gavin, Steve WickhamHarp [Irish], Cymbal [Tiompan] – Derek Bell
B7 Last Boat Leaving
Acoustic Guitar, Mandolin, Piano, Organ, Bells [Ship's Bell] – E.C.*Bass, Accordion – T-Bone WolkBells [Snowbells] – Cait O'RiordanDrums – Jim Keltner



Inner sleeve with lyrics and credits.

Recorded at Ocean Way Studios, Hollywood; Southlake Studios, New Orleans; Windmill Lane Studios, Dublin and AIR Studios, London.
Mixed at Ocean Way Studios.
Additional Mixing at AIR Studios.

Assistant Engineers by studio:
Ocean Way Studios: Mike Ross and Stacey Baird
Windmill Lane: John Grimes
Southlake: Dave Farrell
AIR London: Lance Phillips

Mastered at Masterdisk, NYC

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 7599-25848-4 5
  • Rights Society: GEMA/BIEM
  • Label Code: LC 0392

Other Versions (5 of 38) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
925 848-1, WX 238 Elvis Costello Spike(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records, Warner Bros. Records 925 848-1, WX 238 Europe 1989 Sell This Version
LSWB 73288 Elvis Costello Spike(LP, Album) Jugoton, Warner Bros. Records LSWB 73288 Yugoslavia 1989 Sell This Version
9 25848-2 Elvis Costello Spike(CD, Album) Warner Bros. Records 9 25848-2 US 1989 Sell This Version
R2 25848 Elvis Costello Spike(CD, Album) Rhino Records (2) R2 25848 US 2009 Sell This Version
W1-25848 Elvis Costello Spike(LP, Album) Warner Bros. Records W1-25848 US 1989 Sell This Version