Etta James ‎– Changes

T-Electric ‎– MCA-3244, MCA Records ‎– MCA-3244
Vinyl, LP


A1 Mean Mother 4:33
A2 Donkey 3:18
A3 Changes 4:00
A4 Don't Stop 3:23
A5 Who's Getting Your Love 3:33
B1 Night By Night 3:15
B2 It Takes Love To Keep A Woman 4:10
B3 Wheel Of Fire 3:32
B4 Night People 4:44
B5 With You In Mind 4:21

Companies, etc.



(P) 1980 T Electric Records, Inc.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A label): MCA2231
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B label): MCA2232

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



December 30, 2015
My, this is one funky album. Toussaint gives Etta an uncompromisingly hard backing and the singer responds with some of her edgiest, toughest vocals. She tears into the title track, "Donkey" and "Wheel Of Fire". A different approach from her earlier, sublime "Come A Little Closer" album produced by Gabriel Mekler and Trevor Lawrence, but almost on a par.


April 2, 2011
Much underrated recording by the superb Etta James. Produced by Allen Toussaint, with a tad too much Allen Toussaint, Etta James puts in a superb performance of Carole King's "Changes", picks up the funk challenge of Willie Hutch's "Mean Mother", "Donkey" and "Who's Getting Your Love", sounds positively 2011 contemporary on "It Takes Love To Keep A Woman" and turns around Lee Dorsey's "Night People" into a more solid, robust song. Great vocal on "With You In Mind" too, but I have always thought it was a bit of a plodding song from Allen Toussaint. Should be reissued on CD, along with the LPs Losers Weepers, Sings Funk, Queen Of Soul and Call My Name. Come on re-issuers - get to it!!

Robbie MacDuff, 2nd April 2011, London