Evergrey ‎– Recreation Day

Inside Out Music ‎– IOMCD 117, Inside Out Music ‎– IOMACD 2051, Inside Out Music ‎– 6 93723 65532 1
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 The Great Deceiver
Lyrics By – Henrik Danhage
2 End Of Your Days 4:38
3 As I Lie Here Bleeding 3:51
4 Recreation Day
Composed By – Rikard Zander
5 Visions 6:01
6 I'm Sorry 3:18
7 Blinded 4:34
8 Fragments
Lyrics By – Michael Håkansson
9 Madness Caught Another Victim 2:59
10 Your Darkest Hour
Composed By – Rikard Zander
11 Unforgivable 4:28

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Los Angered Studios, Gothenburg, Sweden.
Mixed at Studio Fredman, Gothenburg, Sweden.
Mastered at The Mastering Room, Gothenburg, Sweden.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 93723 65532 1
  • Barcode (Scanned): 693723655321
  • Label Code: LC01414
  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LB 47
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 0797
  • Matrix / Runout: Sonopress 50660751/085-65532 01

Other Versions (5 of 12) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
IOMCD 117, IOMACD 2051 Evergrey Recreation Day(CD, Album, Promo) Inside Out Music, Inside Out Music IOMCD 117, IOMACD 2051 Germany 2003 Sell This Version
IOMLTDCD 117, IOMACD 2051, 6 93723 00252 1 Evergrey Recreation Day(CD, Album, Ltd, Sli) Inside Out Music, Inside Out Music, Inside Out Music IOMLTDCD 117, IOMACD 2051, 6 93723 00252 1 Germany 2003 Sell This Version
FO1392CD Evergrey Recreation Day(CD, Album, RE, RM, Rem) Фоно FO1392CD Russia 2018 Sell This Version
AFM 702-11, AFM 702 Evergrey Recreation Day(2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, RM, Blu) AFM Records, AFM Records AFM 702-11, AFM 702 Europe 2018 Sell This Version
IOMCD 117, IOMACD 2051, 6 93723 65532 1 Evergrey Recreation Day(CD, Album) Inside Out Music, Inside Out Music, Inside Out Music IOMCD 117, IOMACD 2051, 6 93723 65532 1 Russia 2003 Sell This Version



Add Review



February 8, 2018

'Recreation Day' served as my introduction to Evergrey. I can't remember anything in particular that prompted me to check them out, it was an album I bought completely on a whim. But I'm glad I did, because it's a fantastic release that perfectly blends brutally heavy riffs with melodic singing, throw in some keyboards and prog-inspired song structures and you've got yourself some damn good metal.

With a much clearer production and a more progressive feel than previous releases, 'Recreation Day' is one of Evergrey's finest works, with consistently strong songwriting that doesn't stray too far from the bands firmly established, gloomy style. The interplay between crushingly heavy guitar riffs and crystalline keyboard melodies is incredible, and makes me regret all those days in my youth when I believed there was no place for keyboards in metal (let's be honest, we've all been there).

An absolute onslaught of intense progressive metal that doesn't let up for one second, the album kicks off relentlessly with 'The Great Deceiver', and follows up with the likes of 'As I Lie Here Bleeding', 'Blinded', 'End of Your Days' and the title track, each song a barrage of riffs that will have your neck aching in the morning. There's a few ballads in here too, most notably 'I'm Sorry', but the lyrical content and the sincerity in the vocals means that this is no safe haven from the underlying sense of dread and uneasiness surrounding each song.

'Recreation Day' is a dark, grim and merciless album from start to finish. There's nothing pretty about it, and that's pretty much why I love it.