Explosions In The Sky ‎– How Strange, Innocence

CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered


1 A Song For Our Fathers 5:44
2 Snow And Lights 8:18
3 Magic Hours 8:33
4 Look Into The Air 5:26
5 Glittering Blackness 5:28
6 Time Stops 9:55
7 Remember Me As A Time Of Day 5:18

Companies, etc.



Re-release of their debut album of 2000.

Recorded and mixed in Austin Texas June 2000.
Mastered June 2005.

"How Strange, Innocence" was our first attempt at an album. We recorded it in June 2000 in Austin: recording took two days, mixing one day, mastering one day. Altogether we pressed 300 CD-R copies of this album. We had been a band about seven months when we recorded these songs. A lot of feelings (excitement/confusion/glimpses of visions/waking dreams/inability to play instruments) went into this record, but we didn't quite know what to do with those feelings. None of us had even been in a studio before, and it shows in the recording, the songs show it, too -- it's a young record, there are no tricks in it. There is a lightness in a few of the songs that we probably won't reach again. It sounds strange to say that instrumental songs are "about" something but to us, these songs were about such things as a couple walking through the park on a winter day, a child playing on 70's shag carpet, the story of a boy hero leading a revolution against the tyranny of the coalmines. We've had a bit of a love/embarrassment relationship with this record, at certain points along the way several of us wanted to buy back all of the copies and burn them. Listening now to this album, it almost seems like a different band composed of four different people. We finally feel okay in re-releasing it, probably because we've now made a couple of records that are closer to our visions for them. We truly appreciate anyone who is interested and listening. Thank you."

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 656605308524
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, 2): WWW.BELLWETHERMFG.COM 2W713<7205>TRR85
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1, 2): IFPI L481
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 81A9
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 811F
  • Pressing Plant ID (Variant 1, 2): WWW.BELLWETHERMFG.COM


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



June 9, 2014
Meh. To be honest, I just don't care too much for this band. I feel like this band is just jumping on the bandwagon with the 'post-rock' genre. I mean, the rhythms and structure is just repetitive and boring to listen to. I fall asleep to this stuff, but not in a good way at all. It's really a chore to listen to. Same goes for all of their stuff. I understand why most people like them, though, and that's fine. But, I tried them out and I don't like what I'm hearing. One song from each of their albums is enough for me to stomach.