The Fall ‎– Levitate

Artful Records ‎– ARTFUL CDX9
2 × CD, Album, Limited Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

1-1 Ten Houses Of Eve
Written-By – J Nagle*, ME Smith*
1-2 Masquerade
Written-By – J Nagle*, ME Smith*
1-3 Hurricane Edward
Written-By – J Nagle*, ME Smith*
1-4 I'm A Mummy
Written-By [Uncredited] – Bob McFadden, Rod McKuen
1-5 The Quartet Of Doc Shanley
Written-By – ME Smith*, S Hanley*
1-6 Jap Kid
Written-By – J Nagle*
1-7 4 1/2 Inch
Written-By – ME Smith*, S Hanley*
1-8 Spencer Must Die
Written-By – ME Smith*, S Spencer*
1-9 Jungle Rock
Written-By – H Mizell*
1-10 Ol' Gang
Written-By – ME Smith*, S Wolstencroft*, S Hanley*
1-11 Tragic Days
Written-By – ME Smith*, M Bramah*
1-12 I Come And Stand At Your Door
Written-By – Anon*, J Nagle*
1-13 Levitate
Written-By – J Nagle*, ME Smith*
1-14 Everybody But Myself
Written-By – ME Smith*, S Wolstencroft*
2-1 Powderkex
Written-By [Uncredited] – Karl Burns, Mark E. Smith
2-2 Christmastide
Written-By [Uncredited] – Craig Scanlon, Mark E. Smith, Simon Wolstencroft
2-3 Recipe For Fascism
Written-By [Uncredited] – Mark E. Smith
2-4 Pilsner Trail
Written-By [Uncredited] – Mark E. Smith, Stephen Hanley
2-5 Everybody But Myself (Live)
Written-By [Uncredited] – Mark E. Smith, Simon Wolstencroft

Companies, etc.



Recorded at West Heath Studios, Beethoven Street Studios, & PWL.

Some copies do exist without the bonus disc but with the same catalog number.

Songwriting for track 1-4 is credited to Unknown.

Some copies were not supplied with the insert listing the tracks for CD2.

Marketed and distributed by Total Independience via Pinnacle ©1997 Artful Records ℗1997 Artful Records.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 018524 144426
  • Matrix / Runout (CD1): 84437 ARTFUL CD9
  • Matrix / Runout (CD2): 84587 ARTFUL CD9-2
  • Mastering SID Code (CD1, CD2 (Variant 1 & 2)): IFPI L042
  • Mould SID Code (CD1, CD2 (Variant 1)): IFPI 7908
  • Mould SID Code (CD1 (Variant 2)): IFPI 7306
  • Mould SID Code (CD2 (Variant 2)): IFPI 7303

Other Versions (5 of 7) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ARTFULCDX9 The Fall Levitate(CD, Album) Artful Records ARTFULCDX9 UK 1997 Sell This Version
ARTFUL LP9 The Fall Levitate(LP, Album) Artful Records ARTFUL LP9 UK 1997 Sell This Version
ARTFUL MC9 The Fall Levitate(Cass, Album) Artful Records ARTFUL MC9 UK 1997 Sell This Version
BREDT725 The Fall Levitate(2xLP, Album, RE + LP, Comp + Ltd, RM, Exp) Cherry Red Records (2) BREDT725 UK 2018 Sell This Version
ARTFUL CDX9 The Fall Levitate(CD, Album) Artful Records ARTFUL CDX9 US 1997 Sell This Version



Add Review



May 15, 2018
edited 3 months ago
Here are the details about the 25th May remaster.

Track Listings
Disc: 1
1. Ten Houses of Eve
2. Masquerade
3. Hurricane Edward
4. I'm a Mummy
5. The Quartet of Doc Shanley
6. Jap Kid
7. 4 1/2 Inch
8. Spencer Must Die
9. Jungle Rock
10. Ol' Gang
11. Tragic Days
12. I Come and Stand at Your Door
13. Levitate
14. Everybody But Myself

Disc: 2
1. Powderkex
2. Christmastide
3. Recipe for Fascism
4. Pilsner Trail
5. Everybody But Myself (Live)
6. Masquerade (Single Mix)
7. Ivanhoes Two Pence
8. Spencer Must Die (Live)
9. Ten Houses of Eve (Remix)
10. Calendar
11. Scareball
12. Ol' Gang (Live)
13. Masquerade (Mr Natural Mix)
14. Masquerade (Pwl Mix)

Product description
."Levitate" is the Fall's 19th album originally released in 1997 on Artful Records. It has been out of print for a number of year snow and is much sought after by fans.It's the last album to feature two long-time Fall members, drummer Karl Burns and bass player Steve Hanley (whose playing was once described by Smith as the defining element of the group's music)..The album was initially going to be produced by Keir Stewart and Simon Spencer (who previously collaborated with Smith under the moniker D.O.S.E. on the 1995 single 'Plug Myself In'). Most of the recordings took place at Edwyn Collins' studio in West Hampstead. However, Stewart and Spencer soon fell out with Smith over payments and left after a week, taking most of the tapes with them. The only tracks from these sessions to make the album were "4? Inch" (allegedly edited out of samples of a rehearsal recording), 'Spencer', later re-dubbed by Smith as 'Spencer Must Die', and 'The Quartet of Doc Shanley'. .This re-issue has been re-mastered by long term Fall engineer Andy Pearce and features new sleeve notes by Daryl Easlea: it is presented as a 2-CD set and a 3-LP Set.