Familjen ‎– Det Snurrar I Min Skalle

Adrian Recordings ‎– arcd 049, Hybris ‎– HYBR047
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Nu Händer Det Igen 4:22
2 Det Lilla Livet 4:09
3 Det Snurrar I Min Skalle
Backing Vocals – Edda Magnason, Emil Jensen (2)
4 Det Vet Du 4:37
5 Nån Gång 3:10
6 Hög Luft 3:36
7 Huvudet I Sanden 4:29
8 Kom Säger Dom
Backing Vocals – Ninsun Poli
9 Första Sista 4:18
10 Vad Du Vill 3:56

Companies, etc.




Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: NCB/BIEM
  • Barcode: 7393210036420

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



September 26, 2010
edited over 7 years ago
I just received Familjen's CD from a friend in Sweden. At first sight I didn't know what to expect. Many examples aim at minimal graphics and try to be as arty as possible while behind all that minimal make-up usually there's loads of cliches from already established formulas. But when someone treats his influences with respect, the listener is rewarded with a sincere portrait of an artist, bravely extending these influences of his further afield.

Rarely one's album has the power to get in the ear at the very first listen, and remain there in all of its adorable melody - most albums fail with that tiny little catchy trick and quickly become forgettable like " last years' season's greetings cards".

Familjen, if I understood from the album's credits and Discogs' information, is a one-man band. Musically it's a strange beast despite its obvious choice of accessible electronic sounds, gracefully pioneering the avant-pop field without getting dirty or cheesy along the way. Starting with the vocals - without pretentious exhibitionism, smoothly drifting between the melody and dispersed electronic beats. The most beautiful thing about the album is, "Det Snurrar I Min Skalle" (its translation being something like 'I Feel Dizzy In The Head') is a perfect little dose - all songs are vital in their 3-4 minutes time, without exaggerating with the dancefloor imperative; it is equally enjoyable in both, private room and club spaces.

In some way Familjen's music and style is more reminiscent of the Iceland's electronic pop scene than that of his homeland's (or at least this particular album shows such signs) - Bjork and Gus Gus (Daniel Agust in particular) would be proud to have produced this little gem first, while in vocal terms, it even more reminds me (in some strange way) of Einar Orn (of Purrkur Pillnikk and The Sugarcubes fame) - as if he were in a cool synthie mood for solos.

While The Knife produced a truly unique, stunning statement for the early 21st century, with 'Silent Shout', Familjen created his own, 'loud whisper' to match.