Fennesz ‎– Field Recordings 1995:2002

Touch ‎– Tone 16
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Fennesz Good Man 4:05
2 Fennesz Instrument 1 5:27
3 Fennesz Instrument 2 6:05
4 Fennesz Instrument 3 5:16
5 Fennesz Instrument 4 5:05
6 Ekkehard Ehlers Betrieb
Remix – Fennesz
7 Fennesz Menthol 3:51
8 Fennesz Surf 5:36
9 Fennesz Stairs 1:28
10 Fennesz Ivend00 1:30
11 Fennesz Namewithnohorse 2:02
12 Fennesz Odessa 1:28
13 Stephan Mathieu & Ekkehard Ehlers Codeine
Remix – Fennesz

Companies, etc.



1: Previously unreleased.
2, 3, 4 and 5: Originally released as Instrument on 12" vinyl, MEGO 004 .
6: Remix for "Betrieb" by Ekkehard Ehlers, Mille Plateaux.
7: Originally released on Clicks & Cuts Vol.2, Mille Plateaux.
8: Originally released on Decay, Ash International 3.9.
9: New version of "Stairs" from the movie Blue Moon.
10: Originally released on Reckankreuzungsklankewerkzeuge RKK 13CD. Contains elements from various pieces originally released on Attention: Cats, Reckankreuzungsklankewerkzeuge RKK 000LP.
11: Version 2 of "Namewithnohorse". Original version on KREV X, Ash International 6.6.
12: New version of "Odessa" from Blue Moon.
13: Remix for Stepahn Mathieu & Ekkehard Ehlers. Originally released on Heroin, Orthlorng Musork.

Comes in a Digipak.
℗ & © 2002 Touch
Made in England

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 027803 901629
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L135
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 0418
  • Matrix / Runout: TONE16 01 5
  • Matrix / Runout (Inner ring): MADE IN THE UK BY DISCTRONICS


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



April 16, 2014

Though most of these tracks have appeared elsewhere, you can never really have enough Fennesz. The alternating hiss and emptiness of "Good Man" shows how well he can craft sound. The four tracks that start with "Instrument 1" are much more aggressive in their denseness, though moments of grace find their way onto "Instrument 2" and a chorus-like effect onto "Instrument 4." His remix of Ekkehard Ehler's "Betrieb" also mines the angelic side, but "Menthol" returns to refracted and filtered melodies, sounding, at times, like an underwater disco. The brief "Ivend00" opts for pure ambiance, only for "Namewithnohorse" to sound like leaky rock music by comparison. His remix of "Codeine" for Stepahn Mathieu & Ekkehard Ehlers edges into post-rock territory, though his sonic stamp still remains. Go out into this field and lie down for a good listen.

March 27, 2003
surf is one of the coolest (where cool is a humble substitute for words as aweinspiring, beautiful, asskicking) tracks i´ve heard in this genre. And generally field recordings is my favourite fennesz-release. hIghly recommended. listening-music to be played loud.


March 12, 2003

After his tremendous album "Endless Summer", it was hard to believe that Fennesz could even get better, but he did. The special thing is that this release is not a new album, but a great collection of disparately released songs (mostly from compilations) and his first 12" for Mego, "Instrument".