Fingathing ‎– The Main Event

Grand Central Records ‎– GCCD108, Grand Central Records ‎– GC CD 108
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Intro 0:43
2 Check It Out 2:58
3 Big Monsters Crush Cities 5:56
4 Come On Girls 1:50
5 Head To Head 4:08
6 How To Smoke
Featuring – DJ Noize
7 Slappy's Tune 2:22
8 Just Practice
Featuring – Mr. Scruff
9 Big Kid 2:40
10 Remember This? 0:48
11 You Fly Me 3:11
12 Ffathead 3:20
13 Slippin
Featuring – Veba
14 Alright Refreshment 1:11
15 Crowd Pleasers
Featuring – DJ Noize
16 Ffling 3:42
17 The Final Bout 5:07


All tracks written and arranged by Fingathing and produced by Fingathing and James Ford except :
13 - Lyrics by Sneaky.
6 - Written and arranged by Fingathing/DJ Noize.
8 - Written and arranged by Fingathing/Mr.Scruff. Produced by Fingathing/Mr.Scruff/James Ford.
9 - Written and arranged by Peter Parker. produced by Peter Parker/James Ford.
10 - Written by Paul Reade. Arranged by Sneaky.
11 - Written and arranged by Sneaky. Produced by Sneaky/James Ford.
15 - Written and arranged by Peter Parker/DJ Noize. Produced by DJ Noize.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 82434 10132 6

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
GCCD108, GC CD 108 Fingathing The Main Event(CD, Album, Promo, Car) Grand Central Records, Grand Central Records GCCD108, GC CD 108 UK 2000 Sell This Version
GCLP108, GCLP 108 Fingathing The Main Event(2xLP, Album) Grand Central Records, Grand Central Records GCLP108, GCLP 108 UK 2000 Sell This Version



Add Review



January 23, 2012

Scratching and sampling madness from Fingathing on their debut, THE MAIN EVENT. And despite the pugilistic title, what the album really wants to do is get down. You can hear it from the wobbly "Check It Out" to the easygoing sleaze of "Come On Girls." But it's the instrumentation that stands out: the big monsters of "Big Monsters Crush Cities" are an awesome string section that just builds and builds; the twinkling of "How to Smoke"; the laconic guitar lesson of "Just Practice"; the toe-tapping rhythm, bass and strings of "You Fly Me." Veba offers her considerable vocals to the spooky and soulful "Slippin," and the percussion goes crazed on "Ffling." "The Final Bout" brings back the strings for a last throb, and even if they're not monster-sized, they still rock. Indeed, the album scores a TKO.