First State ‎– Changing Lanes

Magik Muzik ‎– Magik Muzik CD 18
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 First State My Sanctuary 4:58
2 First State Exeo 4:30
3 First State Feat. Elliot Johns Surrounds Me
Producer [Vocals] – Ned BighamVocals – Elliot JohnsWritten-By – Elliot Johns, Ned Bigham
4 First State Cape Point 5:57
5 First State Feat. Relyk Cross The Line
Producer [Vocals] – Richard FurchWritten-By, Vocals – Kyler England
6 First State Mojave 5:04
7 First State Feat. Sarah Howells Reverie
Written-By, Vocals – Sarah Howells
8 First State Butterfly Effect 4:54
9 First State Feat. Elliot Johns Breathe On Me
Producer [Vocals] – Ned BighamVocals – Elliot JohnsWritten-By – Elliot Johns, Ned Bigham
10 First State Feat. Sarah Howells Brave
Written-By, Vocals – Sarah Howells
11 First State Primate 5:50
12 First State As You Were 6:13


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8715197081832
  • Matrix / Runout: MMCD18 #1 ODR
  • Barcode: Biem/Stemra

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
Magik Muzik CD 18 First State Changing Lanes(12xFile, MP3, 320) Magik Muzik Magik Muzik CD 18 Netherlands 2010
ПРЗ CD00368 First State Changing Lanes(CD, Album, Dig) TME, Open Gate Records ПРЗ CD00368 Russia 2010 Sell This Version
HN782CD First State Changing Lanes(CD, Album) High Note Records HN782CD Taiwan 2010 Sell This Version
MM CD 18 EXT First State Changing Lanes (Extended Versions)(12xFile, MP3, Album, 320) Magik Muzik MM CD 18 EXT Netherlands 2010


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



June 18, 2013

This second release came out to be also satisfying despite the absence of Ralph B., in this project. "Changing lanes" is a release filled with life, love, travels, optimism, future and science fiction. This is a very pleaseant Album that i love to listen, specialy in sunny days, or while reading a sci-fi book. My favourite tracks are : "Surrounds me" and "breath on me". i´m looking foward for more First state upcoming Albums.


July 2, 2010
edited over 7 years ago
How this album even surpassed the copyright hurdles to see a release is beyond unnerving, given the level of plagiarizing (or, at the extreme least, unabashed lack of creativity) that is present. Let’s count the ways: Exeo is almost an identical arrangement of Alpha 9 - Bliss. The glitchy percussion, generic white noise fills, sidechained saw bassline, and general rhythms of Brave are reminiscent of several Cosmic Gate productions, such as Not Enough Time. And doesn’t “As You Were” sound very Simon Patterson-ish to you, such as his original "Taxi", his remix of Sam Sharp’s “Roundabout”, and several of his other recent productions? Reverie is simply Cosmic Gate - Barra with a vocal on top, including the melody and arrangement. Good thing Cosmic Gate is on the same label as First State then, huh? My Sanctuary rings peculiar familiarities with Bent - As You Fall (Guy J Remix.) The list goes on, and since its release, there have been several videos surfacing around the web which demonstrate this. I strongly invite all potential buyers to look into this before thinking about dropping your hard earned money on this. This album is so poor and so uninspired, it's not worth a rating. A 1/5 would be generous.

At best, this is just a reminder of how austere and hackneyed so many of these new, uh, “progressive” *snicker* trance releases are. I can’t even defend this album on the desperate “good in a club” argument that so many like to use as a crutch when all else fails. Really? In a club? How so? All energy is lost in the consistent blandness. The builds are predictable as hell. Every stereotype about minimal trance is given by its “signals”: dropping that electro bass after each breakdown, filtering white noise on the builds, incoming kick rolls, overdramatic and long breakdowns using the same chord progressions whilst a seductive diva sings out. Jeeees-us Christ. I want to feel music pulsating when I’m out, not banal white noise and the same offbeat sidechained bassline at 128 BPM for two hours. You’re looking for good club music? Oh yes, check out Hybrid’s new album “Disappear Here,” where your money will be well spent. Or go spend it on a classic like “Balance 005” mixed by James Holden. That’s true progressive.

One thing is certain, though: Black Hole did not put its loyal listeners at the front of its concerns this time. Clearly, it wanted to box this one up as an original piece of art and sell it off nonchalantly. Yessir, the same label that brought us the classic sounds of Gabriel & Dresden, BT, Ralphie B, Fictivision, and of course, Tiesto and all his ISOS mixes; now pins First State and Cosmic Gate to send out the same schlock that has been so trendy and “progressive” for the past three years. It’s just another reminder of the sad position of trance music right now. All feeling is lost from these soulless tracks, and it’s up to listeners to make these observations and turn against it. I’m looking forward to the nervous, brow-wiping Black Hole staffers to come on Discogs and trip over each other as they furiously hit the “Disagree” button. Too bad I'll sharply count every "Disagree" as a victory for true trance music. But hey, the blood is on your hands fellas. Hopefully, you’ll listen to a long time fan such as myself and see that your “direction” is not in good standing. Maybe you'll learn from your failures for once. Once mighty, now a sham.

July 2nd: 1 disagree! First victory! Yes! We're making progress, trance fans.