Flanger ‎– Midnight Sound

Ntone ‎– Ntone CD 40
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Nightbeat 1 3:51
2 Bosco's Disposable Driver 5:49
3 Midnight Sound 5:21
4 We Move 5:55
5 So What
Composed By – Miles DavisDouble Bass [Upright Bass] – Gustavo Errazuriz Hamilton
6 Human Race Race 5:32
7 Angel Of Love 6:35
8 Nightbeat 2 4:03
9 Stepping Out Of My Dream 7:17



Recorded at "Mira Musica", Santiago de Chile, 1999.
Mastered at Tro Studios, Hackenbroich.

Thanks to John Pain, Auckland, for his Vibraphone and to Matt Haines, Los Angeles, for Adjustments.

Published by Freibank/Hamburg (except 5).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 021392 213125
  • Matrix / Runout: IMPRESS NTONECD40 01 5
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L135
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 04B3
  • Other (Etched in CD hub): MADE IN THE UK BY UNIVERSAL M&L

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
Ntone 40 Flanger Midnight Sound(2xLP, Album) Ntone Ntone 40 UK 2000 Sell This Version
NTONECD40 Flanger Midnight Sound(CD, Album) Ntone NTONECD40 Canada 2000 Sell This Version
CD SVT 48482-6 Flanger Midnight Sound(CD, Album, Unofficial) Ntone (2) CD SVT 48482-6 Russia 2000 Sell This Version



Add Review



May 10, 2004

Flanger’s second album, <I>Midnight Sound</I>, starts with the lounge strains of “Nightbeat 1,” and you know you’re in for another great album. Both “Bosco’s Disposable Driver” and “Midnight Sound” have a swinging sound that makes you want to groove. Overall, this album is much more sedate than <I>Templates</I>, but it feels as if they’ve refined into a more stripped-down, pure jazz style. “So What,” for example, is crisp and clean, without any extraneous noise. As a result, the tracks are quieter, but more fulfilling -- “Angel of Love” shuffles along on a cloud of jazz bliss. It’s a challenging album to be sure, but a rewarding one as well.