Flare ‎– Grip

Sublime Records (3) ‎– SBLCD5011UK
CD, Album, Digipak


1 Turbinates 7:17
2 Cycling Round 8:26
3 Curved Flow 5:36
4 Clinch 6:20
5 Parts & Wholes 7:43
6 Sweet Katharsis 6:58
7 Curved Sunburst 7:11
8 Transition 6:58
9 One Blink 5:58
10 Grip 7:17


  • Artwork By [Sleeve Design] – Yasunobu Yamashita
  • Photography, Artwork By [Art Direction] – Tatsuya Yusa
  • Written-by [Created By]Ken Ishii

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5031377001609

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SBLCD5011 Flare Grip(CD, Album) Sublime Records (3) SBLCD5011 Japan 1996 Sell This Version
SBLCD5011, SBLEX001 Flare Grip(CD, Album + CD, Mini, Single, Enh, Ltd) Sublime Records (3), Sublime Records (3) SBLCD5011, SBLEX001 Japan 1996 Sell This Version
SBLLP003 Flare Grip(2xLP) Sublime Records (3) SBLLP003 Japan 1996 Sell This Version



Add Review



April 3, 2009

Ken Ishii comes off his masterful _Jelly Tones_ album by returning to his Flare pseudonym with _Grip_. As a whole, _Grip_ keeps the tamped-down 4/4 beats that marked _Reference to Difference_ (with the notable exception of “Cycling Round,” which thrums with a strong current of energy), but the thick layers of sounds still remain. “Turbinates” kicks things off with tubular melodies that warp around the rhythm, even though, on the whole, _Grip_ feels much more laidback than its predecessor. “Clinch” chirps before turning into a dense haunted house soundtrack. “Sweet Katharsis” starts with some simple piano chords before unleashing some pentatonic melodies, and “Curved Sunburst” has little sparkles and whistles like light refracted through a prism. “One Blink” has engages in some careful blippery, and the title track takes the album out in a swirl of chords that runs like a machine doused in oil. An album to hold on to.