Florence Ballard ‎– The Supreme Florence Ballard

Spectrum Music (2) ‎– 544 517-2
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Florence Ballard Like You Babe
Written By – Thomas/Harold/Thyandic
2 Florence Ballard Yesterday
Written-By – John Lennon And Paul McCartney*
3 Florence Ballard Yours Until Tomorrow
Written-By – Carole King And Gerry Goffin*
4 Florence Ballard It's Not Unusual
Written By – Gordon Mills And Les ReedWritten-By – Gordon Mills (2), Les Reed
5 Florence Ballard The Impossible Dream
Lyrics By – Joe DarionMusic By – Mitch Leigh
6 Florence Ballard It Doesn't Matter How I Say It (It's What I Say That Matters)
Arranged By – Richard TeeWritten-By – Drake Hollon
7 Florence Ballard Stay In Love 3:03
8 Florence Ballard Walk On By
Written-By – Burt Bacharach And Hal David*
9 Florence Ballard Goin' Out Of My Head
Arranged By – Richard TeeWritten By – Ted Randazzo-WeinsteinWritten-By – Weinstein*, Ted Randazzo*
10 Florence Ballard You Bring Out The Sweetness In Me
Written By – Gerald Harris And George KerrWritten-By – George Kerr, Gerald Harris
11 Florence Ballard Everything Wonderful
Written-By – Drake Hollon
12 Florence Ballard Love Ain't Love
Arranged By – Bert DeCoteauxProducer – Robert BatemanWritten-By – Van McCoy
13 Florence Ballard Forever Faithful
Written By – Robert Bateman And J. WickerWritten-By, Producer, Arranged By – Robert Bateman
14 Florence Ballard My Heart
Written-By – Unknown Artist
15 The Supremes Buttered Popcorn
Featuring, Lead Vocals – Florence BallardProducer – Berry GordyWritten-By – Barney Ales, Berry Gordy
16 The Supremes Ain't That Good News
Featuring, Lead Vocals – Florence BallardProducer – Marc Gordon And Hal Davis*Written-By – Sam Cooke
17 The Supremes Hey Baby
Featuring, Lead Vocals – Florence BallardProducer, Written-By – Berry Gordy
18 The Supremes Heavenly Father
Featuring, Lead Vocals – Florence BallardProducer – Berry GordyWritten-By – Unknown Artist



This compilation: ℗ 2001 Spectrum Music © 2001 Spectrum Music. The copyright in these recordings is owned
by the repertoire owners and is licensed to Spectrum Music, a division of Universal Music Operations Ltd. All
rights reserved. Unauthorised copying, reproduction, hiring, lending, public performance and broadcasting prohibited.
A product of Spectrum Music. Marketed and distributed in the UK by Spectrum Music, a Universal Music Group Company. Made in the EU.

Booklet: Tracks 17 and 18 previously unreleased. Designed at Bold, London.

Non-release Notes: Exact release date culled from "Don't Forget The Motor City", an online Motown discography.

Duration times do not appear on release.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 31454 45172 7
  • Label Code: LC5064
  • Other (Distribution Code): UN506



Add Review



June 30, 2016

What better way to help remember Florence Ballard's birthday than a look at her only album attempt on her own. This compact disc is a treat for us faithful fans. It consists of the tunes she recorded as a solo vocalist with ABC Records in 1968 (after her release from Motown was official earlier that year). Unfortunately this album would be shelved in part because the single "Love Ain't Love" (included in the album) did not chart adequately and ABC did not provide a robust promotion for it. Years later in 2001, Spectrum Music released the album tracks in CD format.

The compilation kicks off with the soul sound rendition of "Like You Babe." Florence performs her versions of well known tunes of the time as "Yesterday," "It's Not Unusual," "Walk On By," and "Goin' Out Of My Head." "The Impossible Dream" and "Forever Faithful" are exceptional standouts.

The CD provides a different and refreshing look at Florence Ballard and may be a surprise to listeners use to her earlier work with Motown (which the CD includes four tracks). It offers an insight into the capabilities Florence possessed as a solo vocalist and makes one wonder what she could have accomplished with more time, development, and resources. It makes this fan wishing there was more from her.