Foreigner ‎– 4

Atlantic ‎– SD 16999
Vinyl, LP, Album, Specialty Pressing

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Night Life
Written-By – Gramm*
A2 Juke Box Hero
Synthesizer [Sequential] – Larry FastWritten-By – Gramm*
A3 Break It Up
Keyboards [Additional Textures] – Bob MayoSaxophone – Mark RiveraSynthesizer [Sequential] – Larry Fast
A4 Waiting For A Girl Like You
Keyboards [Additional Textures] – Bob MayoWritten-By – Gramm*
A5 Luanne
Written-By – Gramm*
B1 Urgent
Keyboards [Textures] – Michael FonfaraSaxophone – Mark RiveraSaxophone [Solo] – Jr. Walker*
B2 I'm Gonna Win 4:51
B3 Woman In Black 4:42
B4 Girl On The Moon
Guitar [Slide] – Hugh McCrackenKeyboards [Textures] – Michael FonfaraWritten-By – Gramm*
B5 Don't Let Go
Synthesizer [Sequential] – Larry FastWritten-By – Gramm*

Companies, etc.



1st Pressing (1981): Has white Warner "W" sticker on the back upper right corner.

2nd Pressing (1982): Does not have the sticker.

Matrix/Runouts are for (1981) First Pressing.

Recorded at Electric Lady Studios, N.Y.C.
Mastered at Sterling Sound, N.Y.C.
MFG. By Atlantic Recording Corp.
© ℗ 1981 Atlantic Recording Corporation.
Printed in U.S.A.
Pressed in Canada under same cat#.

Jr. Walker appears courtesy of Whitfield Records.

Larry Fast appears courtesy of Passport Records.

Michael Fontana appears courtesy of Arista Records.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label A-side): ST-A-814727
  • Matrix / Runout (Label B-side): ST-A-814728
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Etchings A-side [variant 1] ): STA-814727-D SM5-3 "Welcome Christopher"
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Etchings B-side [variant 1] ): STA-814728-D SM1-3 "Up To The Sky"-Roman
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Etchings A-side [variant 2] ): STA • 814727• E SP 0-1 SM5-2 "WELCOME CHRISTOPHER" M1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Etchings B-side [variant 2] ): STA • 814728-B MMSF1 SM4 "UP TO THE SKY"-ROMAN SP 0-2 SM1-2
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Etchings A-side [variant 3] ): STA • 814727• E SP 0-1 SM5-1 "WELCOME CHRISTOPHER" M1
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Etchings B-side [variant 3] ): STA • 814728-C $M1 5- "UP TO THE SKY" ROMAN 0-1 SM1-4
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Etchings A-side [variant 4] ): STA-814727- D (EDP) M1 SP "WELCOME CHRISTOPHER" 0-15M3-1 sᴛᴇʀʟɪɴɢ
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Etchings B-side [variant 4] ): STA • 814728-B SP0-1 SM33 (EDP) M1 "UP TO THE SKY"-ROMAN sᴛᴇʀʟɪɴɢ
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Etchings A-side [variant 5] ): STA-814727-D SP M1 SF1 SM2 "WELCOME CHRISTOPHER" 0-2 SP
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Etchings B-side [variant 5] ): STA • 814728-B MMSF1 SM4 "UP TO THE SKY"-ROMAN SP 0-2 SM1-2
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Both Sides Machine Stamp - "EDP" within an oval [variants 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5] ): sᴛᴇʀʟɪɴɢ (EDP)
  • Pressing Plant ID (Embossed inside inner press ring side B): EAST
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 151) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ATL 50 796, SD 16999 Foreigner 4(LP, Album) Atlantic, Atlantic ATL 50 796, SD 16999 Netherlands 1981 Sell This Version
XCS-16999 Foreigner 4(Cass, Album, D, ) Atlantic XCS-16999 Canada 1981 Sell This Version
K 50796 Foreigner 4(LP, Album) Atlantic K 50796 Ireland 1981 Sell This Version
SD 16999 Foreigner 4(LP, Album, Eur) Atlantic SD 16999 US 1981 Sell This Version
250 796, 16999-2 Foreigner 4(CD, Album, RE, Gol) Atlantic, Atlantic 250 796, 16999-2 Germany 1988 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 27, 2016
The band was reduced by two as Mick Jones' musical direction was no longer taking aim at the FM airwaves but queuing in on world dominance. Say what you will about Foreigner for abandoning the 'hard rock meets blue-eyed soul' of their three previous records. Their fourth album (aptly titled 4) delivers hit after hit. It includes the massively popular 'Urgent', 'Waiting For A Girl Like You' and air guitar anthem 'Juke Box Hero'. Lou Gramm's soulful voice once again is at the forefront as '4' brought the band into uncharted territory as the biggest arena band in the world.

The album would go on to sell over 10 million copies including the record and compact disc I proudly own. I tend to drop the needle on the record every now and then when thinking about my years as a 15 year old back in northern Ontario. The CD has a few unplugged versions included. Give it a listen as it is masterfully produced by Mick Jones and Mutt Lange and judge for yourself.