Fourth Sensation ‎– Fourth Sensation

Ricordi International ‎– SLIR 22046, Ricordi International ‎– SLIR 22.046
Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Julia
A2 Clarissa
A3 Vanessa
A4 Petula
A5 Elena
B1 Lisa
B2 Diana
B3 Marta
B4 Cinzia
B5 Georgia

Companies, etc.



Ⓟ 1970
Full laminated cover with pictures of the musicians, but no credits.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side A): S-22.046/1
  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side B): S-22.046/2
  • Rights Society: S:I.A.E.

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CNPL 806 Fourth Sensation Fourth Sensation(LP, Album, Ltd, RE) Cinedelic Records CNPL 806 Italy 2017 Sell This Version
CNPL 806 Fourth Sensation Fourth Sensation(LP, Album, RE) Cinedelic Records CNPL 806 Italy 2017 Sell This Version
CNPL 806 Fourth Sensation Fourth Sensation(LP, Album, Ltd, RE, Blu) Cinedelic Records CNPL 806 Italy 2017 Sell This Version

Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



April 5, 2018
Dear Collectors, please pay attention: there are, at least, 3 different press of this precious album. All differ in the label, images published in the release are from the second press with a different composition between label side one and two (please look at the different distance between the word "International" and "lato1" or "lato2"), in the first press, this distance is the same. Maybe they changed the label of side two because of a smear present in the first press in the round circle words (...diritti del produttore fonografico). There is also a third different version, maybe a later press, where the label includes the presence of a red SIAE stamp and a different composition of text.


March 30, 2017
Highly sought after album FOURTH SENSATION, originally released in 1970. The band was formed by Ares Tavolazzi (I Giganti, Area) - who later was an active session musician as well as being a leading figure in the Italian jazz scene, accompanying Gil Evans, Steve Lacy, Max Roach, Lee Konitz, Phil Woods, Enrico Rava, Stefano Bollani, Franco D'Andrea and many others - on guitar, Ellade Bandini on drums, keyboardist Vince Tempera - who, a few years later formed the progressive supergroup Il Volo with Mario Lavezzi and Alberto Radius and, in the late '70s, composed a myriad of memorable TV and Cartoon themes - and Angelo Vaggi on bass.

Musically, the project is precisely within the context of the year it was released, which coincided in Italy with the decline of the Beat and the advent of the Underground and Psychedelic movements; in the Italian scene it inaugurated a trend of records of this type such as The Underground Set (1970), Blue Phantom "Distortions" (1971), Psycheground Group (1971), Chimenti “Droga" (1972) and others, still objects of worship by collectors worldwide.

The composers of the songs are known to Library Music lovers, namely they are Stefano Torossi, Giuliano Sorgini, Massimo Catalano and Sandro Brugnolini. Musically it is undeniable the technical skill of the 4 interpreters in the 10 tracks here, all curiously titled with the names of women, they are alternately a mix of acid blues, soul jazz, funk and psychedelia, with the Hammond organ of Tempera in the foreground.


December 24, 2013
A psychedelic rock album specially composed by well-known Italian jazz musician and soundtrack composer Massimo Catalano for the budget label Ricordi International, which naturally went unnoticed and the time and promptly disappeared into obscurity. That was until some hip psych collectors and crate diggers started spreading the word. The LP was an unknown entity until someone did their research, and discovered that the keyboard player was in fact Vince Tempera (Vincenzo Tempera), also well-known on the soundtrack front, in the simialrly styled The Psycheground Group and the prog supergroup Il Volo. Guitarist Ares Tavolazzi later became better-known as a bassist in Area (6).