Frank Zappa ‎– Theatre Antique D'Orange - France (20. June 1980)

Not On Label (Frank Zappa) ‎– FZ 20680
Vinyl, LP, Album, Unofficial Release, Green


A1 City Of Tiny Lights
A2 A Pound For A Brown (Incl. La Marseillaise)
A3 Cosmik Debris
A4 You Didn't Try To Call Me
A5 I Ain't Got No Heart
A6 Love Of My Life
A7 You Are What You Is
A8 Easy Meat
B1 Mudd Club
B2 The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing
B3 Joe's Garage
B4 Why Does It Hurt When I Pee?
B5 Dancin' Fool
B6 Bobby Brown
B7 Ms. Pinky
B8 I Don't Wanna Get Drafted
B9 The Illinois Enema Bandit

Companies, etc.



A live Zappa concert; Recorded in Theatre Antique D'Orange, an old Roman amphitheatre in Orange, France, during the band's 1980 European Tour.

Green vinyl issue (also pressed in orange vinyl), in gloss-print sleeve with pics of band on stage to front and back of sleeve. Track list and personnel credits on back cover.
Labels have pic of Zappa's head, reproduced from series used on sleeve back cover shot.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (hand-etched): FZ 20680 A
  • Matrix / Runout (hand-etched): FZ 20680 B


Add Review



June 30, 2015
edited over 2 years ago
Definitely a very obscure concert tape (and unfortunately, not the best sounding), but still quite an interesting listen!

This is one of those strange bootleg LPs where the people who made it managed to fit approximately 40 minutes of audio onto each side, fitting the entire 75 minute source onto a single LP, which is quite impressive, but risky as the grooves will be quite thin, making them more susceptible to damage if your stylus is old or worn. However, it does capture a solid performance at a unique venue that manages to come out pretty good, despite the source being an audience recording.

The concert itself was recorded at an ancient roman amphitheatre in the city of Orange in France and the acoustics on it are surprisingly really good (despite being an outdoor venue) and features a lot of songs that were standard for Frankie's set lists during this particular tour (no rarities here, folks). The sound quality on it is quite good, despite that it sounds like it was recorded with some cheap, standard equipment, it sounds like it was relatively close to the stage, so all of the instruments and vocals are quite audible, slightly better than the average audience source (but not by much). The recording cuts in during the last minute of "City Of Tiny Lites" (sadly, there is no knowledge about any of the songs played before it) and features the remainder of the show (I'm guessing about 80% of it) with few cuts in the audio. The Highlights include Excellent versions of "Pound For A Brown", "You Didn't Try To Call Me", "Love Of My Life", "Easy Meat", "Mudd Club" (with a good ramble from frank included in it) and a smoking version of "The Illinois Enema Bandit" as the final encore. A minor flaw with this record is that it leaves out the performance of "Stick it out" from the second encore, but it's not a huge loss.

A neat little touch with the sleeve is that it includes a decent amount of pictures from the concert itself, which is actually quite a rare thing with bootlegs, as most of the time the manufacturers don't care enough to pay attention to such a detail and just slap a picture of the artist on the cover before printing all of them.

This is not a perfect record and definitely not one of the best Zappa vinyl bootlegs I've seen (considering that there are TONS of better quality bootleg sources out there that haven't been circulated on vinyl yet, this leaves you hungry for something better), but It's not terrible either. It's chock full of Zappa songs from a very solidly-played gig (and with almost 40 minutes per side, it's like a double LP for the price of one) and it's at least sure to please a good chunk of Zappa fans out there (especially the ones who are fond of the "Sheik Yerbouti" and "You Are What You Is" albums). If you can find it for a good, cheap price (I got mine for $20 canadian at a local shop), I'd say it's a good find.