Fraud (10) ‎– Fraud

Kaometry Records ‎– KMTDR13
7 × File, MP3, FLAC, Mini-Album


1 Back In The Game 2:43
2 Worms 2:36
3 Get To The Point 2:37
4 Get To The Point [scherzo] 2:01
5 Coping Mechanisms 2:10
6 Spine 3:36
7 Blanket 4:52


Add Review



April 5, 2014
Whether you consider it to be German or English, Fraud is an attracting and seducing name, and it’s a new name.
Music is something personal indeed and this debut EP is Fraud’s idea of music, a bright photography and a sharp image, like the geometric form on the cover whose artwork is by Fraud as well.

The first track “Back In The Game” starts drumming and suddenly turns into a bass-lines and beats choreography, while everything slides down nasty and robotic, forging like dubstep stripped down with brakes of acid funk.
Ahead in the game, “Worms” is one of the heaviest beat you could image, it makes you wonder how many MC’s out there, if not Method Man or such a pair, would front this massive beat.
Fraud’s music flows, it is fresh, powerfull, precise, it is plenty of ideas to be developed: this whole EP it’s like being thrown in a fight between colossus, and you can safely gaze from the inside, every detail is slowed down and zoomed in! if your mind will follow your ears you’ll be able to see fragments, to hear whispers, to identify each gesture.
The 5th track, the most explicitly-titled one “Copying Mechanisms” opens to unexpected: a string-like melody laying down on a crunchy beat, dreaming till the end, like sunset rays coming through the windows.
But it’s not the end, there’s always night after sunset… “Spine” and “Blanket” follow, and it’s a real heavy, dark and smashing one-two punch, the two tracks connected by a vortex synth similar to Bangalter Irreversible’s obsessive intro, bringing us down through the gears.
All elements collides and forms, just as a spine shaping the body.
If the opening track is called “Back In The Game”, thus suggesting a looping listening (I did it, it works great!), the ending is a looping-circular sound, hopefully expanding towards more episodes…