Fred Frith ‎– Cheap At Half The Price

East Side Digital ‎– ESD 80572
CD, Album, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Some Clouds Don't 3:12
2 Cap The Knife 2:47
3 Evolution 3:21
4 Too Much Too Little
Bass – Tina CurranComposed By – Fred Frith, Tina Curran
5 True Love
Engineer – Kramer (2)Voice – Sheena Dupuis
6 The Welcome 2:28
7 Same Old Me
Bass [Original, All But Obliterated] – Bill Laswell
8 Some Clouds Do 2:49
9 Instant Party 1:53
10 Person To Person
Alto Saxophone – George CartwrightEngineer – Martin Bisi
11 Walking Song 3:13
12 Flying In The Face Of Facts 2:38
13 Heart Bares 4:56
14 Absent Friends
Handclaps [Clapping] – Aksak Maboul
15 The Great Healer 2:07

Companies, etc.


  • Artwork [Lithography]Busag
  • Engineer [Digital Mastering]Paul Zinman
  • Guitar, Bass [6-string], Synthesizer [Casio 101], Violin, Xylophone, Voice, Instruments [Home-mades]Fred Frith
  • LayoutPeter Bäder
  • Photography By [Cover Photo]Tina Curran
  • Written-By, Recorded ByFred Frith (tracks: 1 to 4, 6 to 9, 11 to 15)


Tracks 1 to 4, 6 to 9 and 11 to 15 initially released in 1983: Cheap At Half The Price (Ralph Records, FF 8356 - USA).

Recorded at home on a 4-track, except track 5 (recorded at Noise, NY) and track 10 (recorded at BC Studio, NY).

Drums recorded at various times and places, thanks to Frank Wuyts, Fred Maher, Paul Sears and especially Hans Bruniusson, who let me make a tape of 15-second generic drum styles without having any idea what I would do with them.

Track 5 originally appeared on Various - The 20th Anniversary Of The Summer Of Love 1987-1967, a Shimmy Disc compilation.
Track 10 is from the Curlew LP North America, released by the Moers label in 1984. All sounds made by saxophone or microphone.

Special thanks to Tina, Asha, Kramer, George, Eugene Nowacki, Burkhard Hennen, Tom Cora, Roger and Annie.
Digital mastering: New York Digital

1991 Rec Rec Genossenschaft, Zurich, Switzerland
Licensed for North America by ESD

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 21561-8057-2 9
  • Matrix / Runout: ESD 80572 01! MADE IN USA

Other Versions (5 of 5) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
FF 8356 Fred Frith Cheap At Half The Price(LP, Album) Ralph Records FF 8356 US 1983 Sell This Version
RecRec 903 Fred Frith Cheap At Half The Price(Cass, Album, RE) RecRec Music RecRec 903 Switzerland 1991 Sell This Version
BELLE 152442 Fred Frith Cheap At Half The Price(CD, Album, RE, RM, Pap) Belle Antique BELLE 152442 Japan 2015 Sell This Version
ReCDec 903 Fred Frith Cheap At Half The Price(CD, Album, RE) RecRec Music ReCDec 903 Switzerland 1991 Sell This Version
ReR/FRO06 Fred Frith Cheap At Half The Price(CD, Album, RE) ReR Megacorp, Fred Records ReR/FRO06 UK 2004 Sell This Version