Free ‎– The Free Story

Island Records ‎– ISLD 4
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition, Numbered

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 I'm A Mover
Producer – Guy Stevens
A2 I'll Be Creepin'
Producer – Chris Blackwell
A3 Mourning Sad Morning
Producer – Chris Blackwell
A4 All Right Now
Producer – Free, John Kelly (2)
A5 Heavy Load
Producer – Free
B1 Fire And Water
Producer – Free, John Kelly (2)
B2 Be My Friend
Producer – Free
B3 The Stealer
Producer – Free
B4 Soon I Will Be Gone
Producer – Free
B5 Mr. Big
Producer – Andy Johns
C1 The Hunter
Producer – Andy JohnsWritten-By – Jackson*, Jones*, Dunn*, Wells*, Cropper*
C2 Get Where I Belong
Producer – Free
C3 Travelling Man
Producer – Andy Fraser
C4 Just For The Box
Producer – Rabbit*, Kossoff*, Kirke*, Tetsu*
C5 Lady
Producer – Chris Blackwell, Paul Rodgers
D1 My Brother Jake
Producer – Free
D2 Little Bit Of Love
Producer – Free
D3 Sail On
Producer – Free
D4 Heartbreaker
Producer – Bob Pridden
D5 Come Together In The Morning
Producer – Free

Companies, etc.


  • Liner NotesBilly Walker (3)
  • Written-ByFraser* (tracks: A1 to B5, C2, C3, D1 to D3), Kossoff* (tracks: B3, B5, C3, C4, D2, D3), Rodgers* (tracks: A1 to B5, C2 to D5), Kirke* (tracks: B5, C3, D2, D3)


Inside the Gatefold is a long essay about the history of Free written by Billy Walker, Editor Sounds, London. Design Musgrove House Limited.
Tracks B5 + C1 recorded Live.

Paper insert marked ISLD4, listing the Free Discography, Singles and Albums with release dates.

Bottom center of back cover states, "THE FREE STORY" IS A LIMITED EDITION. THIS ALBUM IS NUMBER ******

Track C3 is previously unreleased
Track D4 recorded live at Portsmouth Guildhall, October 7th, 1972

℗ 1973 Island Records Ltd.

There are two covers for this. One which has the catalogue number at the top right hand corner on rear sleeve, printed 'ISL D3'. The record labels have ridged edges, and side four, track 4 (D4) plays the studio version of 'Heartbreaker'. (Matrix number: ISL042 A-L)

Another cover variation has a sticker at top right hand corner with the catalogue number ISLD 4 (white lettering on black background sticker). The record labels do not have ridged edges, and side four, track 4 (D4) plays a live version of 'Heartbreaker'. (Matrix number: ISL042 A-L)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, A Side Stamped): ISL041 A-L
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, B Side Stamped): ISL041 A/B-L
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, C Side Stamped): ISL042 A-L
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, D Side Stamped): ISLD41 B-L
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2, A-side, stamped): ISLD41 A-L AREACEM
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2, B-side, stamped): ISLD41 B-L AREACEM
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2, C-side, stamped): ISLD42 A-L AREACEM
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2, D-side, stamped): ISLD42 B-L AREACEM
  • Matrix / Runout (A-side, center label, upside down): ISLD 4.1 A
  • Matrix / Runout (B-side, center label, upside down): ISLD 4.1-B
  • Matrix / Runout (C-side, center label, upside down): ISLD 4.2-A
  • Matrix / Runout (D-side, center label, upside down): ISLD 4.2-B
  • Other (Cat# disk 1): ISLD 4.1
  • Other (Cat# disk 2): ISLD 4.2

Other Versions (5 of 31) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
89 313 XBT Free The Free Story(2xLP, Comp, Ltd, Num) Island Records 89 313 XBT Germany 1974 Sell This Version
CID 9945, 842 343-2 Free The Free Story(CD, Comp) Island Records, Island Records CID 9945, 842 343-2 UK & Europe Unknown Sell This Version
L 45317/8 Free The Free Story(2xLP, Comp) Island Records L 45317/8 New Zealand 1975 Sell This Version
none Free The Free Story(19xFile, MP3, Comp, RE, 320) UMC none UK & Europe 2016
CID 9945 Free The Free Story(CD, Comp) Island Records CID 9945 UK 1989 Sell This Version



Add Review



October 9, 2016
On some German copies Travelling Man is by Toby, Andy Fraser's 1971-2 'splinter' band. This seems to have been replaced pretty quickly by the Free version. The sequencing suggests that the original intention was to include a track by each of the 'splinter' bands (Toby, KKTR and Peace). Fraser is known to have regarded the Toby material as substandard and unsuitable for release (he explicitly vetoed the inclusion of any on the 2000 box set Songs Of Yesterday) so he may well have insisted on the withdrawal of Toby's reading of Travelling Man.