Freeform ‎– Elastic Speakers

Worm Interface ‎– wi02
CD, Album


1 Unit 6:35
2 Reflection:cone 3:43
3 Bubbled 5:04
4 Ect 6:56
5 Infinite Timer 3:47
6 Backspace 4:52
7 Re:1 0:52
8 Gammon Fonk 4:24
9 Opp:expone 5:11
10 Nenne:int3 4:55
11 Evolve 6:25
12 Junction 8:40
13 Arch Re 2:26
14a Corde 5:28
14b Hidden Track 5:10

Companies, etc.



All tracks formed 94 95.
Track 14 ends at 5:28 and a hidden track begins at 6:00.

© Worm Interface 1995.
℗ Worm Interface 1995.

Made in England.

Thinks2: Matpyke, Kev, Dave, Mark, Rockett, Chantal, Autechre, Skam and everyone else.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 98435 33022 8
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L132
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 0454
  • Matrix / Runout: WI002 10366181 01 % MADE IN U.K. BY PDO

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



January 9, 2013

Freeform's debut album, ELASTIC SPEAKERS, came at the height of IDM, and you can hear all the requisite sounds: crunchy beats, angular melodies, industrial tones. "Unit" gets things going with some modest amount of funk in its bassline, while "Bubbled" sounds like a cathedral slowly sinking beneath the waves. "Ect" mixes sustained tones with bleepiness to great and moody effect. Freeform balances the more beat-oriented tracks with tonal interludes, which maintains a nice variation throughout -- as when the more harsh "Backspace" follows the softer "Infinite Timer." Though if you're looking for bounce, go no further than "Gammon Fonk," which carries the hip-hop feel into "Opp:expone." The pure abstraction returns in "Nenne:int3" and grows moodier in "Evolve." "Junction" is more mellow, with disembodied radio chatter creeping in throughout, and "Corde" goes for a slow majesty (though the hidden track knocks the album back into existence). The speakers may be elastic, but this album has plenty of stuff on which to flex your ears.