Freelance Whales ‎– Weathervanes

Frenchkiss Records ‎– FKR043-1
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Generator ^ First Floor 3:08
A2 Hannah 3:38
A3 Location 4:39
A4 Channels
Written-By – Chuck Criss, Kevin Read
A5 Starring 3:35
A6 Kilojoules 3:20
B1 Broken Horse 4:39
B2 Danse Flat 1:16
B3 Ghosting 5:20
B4 We Could Be Friends 4:13
B5 Vessels
Written-By – Chuck Criss, Kevin Read
B6 Generator ^ Second Floor 4:32
B7 The Great Estates 4:02

Companies, etc.



Recorded in Alan Labiner's Home Recording Studio In Bensonhurst, Brooklyn

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 858275001112
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (5 of 7) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
none Freelance Whales Weathervanes(CD, Album) Not On Label none US 2009 Sell This Version
FKR043-1 MP011, MP011 Freelance Whales Weathervanes(LP, Album) Frenchkiss Records, Mom + Pop FKR043-1 MP011, MP011 Netherlands 2010 Sell This Version
85827500112, MP011 Freelance Whales Weathervanes(CD, Album, Dig) Frenchkiss Records, Mom + Pop 85827500112, MP011 UK 2010 Sell This Version
MP011 Freelance Whales Weathervanes(CD, Album) Mom + Pop MP011 Indonesia 2010 Sell This Version
MP011 Freelance Whales Weathervanes(CD, Album) Mom + Pop MP011 Europe 2010 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



July 4, 2016
does anybody still have this for sale? id love to purchase a copy


November 30, 2015

Speaking musically, this album is magical. As self-described derivatives of Le Loup, you can trace the meandering rhythms and melodies from that influence, but where Le Loup drives into deeper environmental sounds, Weathervanes whimsies--and this is a good thing. Early on the album, Generator first floor and Hannah giddy-up and show you the breadth of their vocals, and their understanding of harmonies. Side A ends with Kilojoules which is a deep dive that hints at some motifs on the record. Side B starts extremely strong with a acoustic ballad Broken Horse, which doesn't disappoint. It returns to the generator and motifs from Kilojoules at the end of side B and wraps up shortly after.

This album is something to behold. I can't ask for much more out of an indie album that what this provides. Both your music-snob friends, and your casual listening buddies will like several tunes on this disc.

Regarding the media itself. The record was self-pressed, so it's rare and expensive. The audio quality is moderate to good. The songs sound rich and fluid. Never pass up the opportunity to acquire this record, but don't be desperate to find one unless you're a FW devotee--like me ;-).


April 18, 2010

This is an easy-to-recommend album, especially for indie fans.
The songs are conveniently short and light-sounding. A couple of definite feelgood hits here.
The music is clever and uses a variety of percussions, organ and whatnots. Vocals are clear.
If you're looking for pleasant sounding and unpretencious music to lighten your afternoon, this is a definite winner. 5/5