Fridge ‎– Happiness



1 Melodica And Trombone 6:01
2 Drum Machines And Glockenspiels 13:18
3 Cut Up Piano And Xylophone 2:38
4 Tone Guitar And Drum Noise 4:44
5 Five Four Child Voice 9:21
6 Sample And Clicks 2:56
7 Drums Bass Sonics And Edit 7:26
8 Harmonics 4:07
9 Long Singing 8:57


Other Versions (5 of 9) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
TEXT002CD Fridge Happiness(CD, Album) Text Records TEXT002CD UK 2001 Sell This Version
TRR43LP Fridge Happiness(LP, Dar + LP, Yel + Album, Ltd, RE) Temporary Residence Limited TRR43LP US 2007 Sell This Version
WIGCD101 Fridge Happiness(CD, Album) Domino WIGCD101 UK 2001 Sell This Version
PCD-23187 Fridge Happiness(CD, Album) P-Vine Records PCD-23187 Japan 2001 Sell This Version
TEXT002LP Fridge Happiness(2xLP, Album) Text Records TEXT002LP UK 2001 Sell This Version



Add Review



October 17, 2008

Fridge lets you know exactly what you're getting into with their _Happiness_ album: for track titles, they instead list the major instruments. So, for instance, "Melodica and Trombone" has exactly that (along with a quiet, spacious ending). "Drum Machines and Glockenspiels" has... well, you can guess. But this is Fridge, so it's more than simply an instruments list; there's the delicate post-rock contemplation. The glimmering and gorgeous "Cut Up Piano and Xylophone" shows that they have more than sustained guitars up their sleeves. Indeed, oftentimes, the stated instrument, as in "Five Four Child Voice," takes a backseat to Fridge's own compositions. It's almost like a bait-and-switch! But "Harmonics" remains pure, with equal measures of plucking and strumming and carefully constructed sonics. Fridge knows how to induce happiness like the best of them.