Front Line Assembly ‎– Improvised Electronic Device

Metropolis ‎– MET 660
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 I. E. D. 6:35
2 Angriff 6:43
3 Hostage 6:57
4 Release 5:21
5 Shifting Through The Lens (Extended Version)
Keyboards [Additional] – Craig Joseph Huxtable*
6 Laws Of Deception 5:21
7 Pressure Wave 4:58
8 Afterlife
Engineer [Additional] – Loud Chris Demarcus*
9 Stupidity
Engineer [Vocals] – Samton D'Ambruoso*Mixed By – Al Jourgensen, Samton D'Ambruoso*Producer, Vocals, Lyrics By, Arranged By [Strings], Programmed By [Additional] – Al JourgensenProgrammed By [Additional Drums] – Samton D'Ambruoso*
10 Downfall 8:06

Companies, etc.



Vocals recorded at Blue Water and Harbor Side Studios.
Vocals engineering on "Stupidity" at 13th. Planet Recording Studios

© + ℗ 2010 Metropolis Records

Front Line Assembly, and Al Jourgensen would like to dedicate the song 'Stupidity' to the loving memory of Wax Trax CEO's Jim Nash and Dannie Flesher, may the Wax Trax legacy live Forever.

Al Jourgensen appears courtesy of 13th Planet Records, Inc. / BMI.
Craig Joseph Huxtable appears courtesy of Interdimensional Industries.
Justin Hagberg appears courtesy of Century Media Records.

Packaging: standard jewel case with a clear tray. 8 page booklet.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7-8238806602-0
  • Barcode (Scanned UPC-A): 78238806602-0
  • Matrix / Runout: Z88451 DF MET 80660-2 TEXT 01
  • Mastering SID Code: ifpi L909
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 2Q9F
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 2U7G

Other Versions (5 of 13) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
AOF180 Front Line Assembly Improvised Electronic Device(2xLP, Album, RE) Artoffact Records AOF180 Canada 2014 Sell This Version
MIND 167 Front Line Assembly Improvised Electronic Device(CD, Album) Dependent Records, Союз MIND 167 Russia 2010 Sell This Version
MET 9660D Front Line Assembly Improvised Electronic Device(12xFile, MP3, Album, Dlx, 320) Metropolis MET 9660D US 2010
none Front Line Assembly Improvised Electronic Device(19xFile, MP3, Album, RE, 256) Artoffact Records none Canada 2014
AOF180 Front Line Assembly Improvised Electronic Device(2xLP, Album, RE + 7", Ltd + S/Edition) Artoffact Records AOF180 Canada 2014 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 6 Reviews

Add Review



June 24, 2010

"Shifting Through The Lens", the album's first single released two weeks ago set the bar high and I will tell you that it was the perfect set up for what was to come. Each track on the single explored different concepts and styles very much like this album does. The opening title track is a mindblower! "I.E.D." starts subtle and breaks into a creepy textured smathering of loops and kicks and is just amazing! "Angriff" (also the second track on the single) is probably some of Bill's best writing in years, add a superbly vocalized german chorus with a pulse-pounding guitar thrum and...- oh and by the way the vocals on this album are brilliantly processed in FLA fashion - so many times I caught myself giddy with excitement and actually saying aloud, "wow, that's brilliant!" Now, "Hostage" will be every FLA fanboy's electro dream track - yeah it is. "Release" breaks in to familiar guitar gnashing "Hard-wired" territory. "Shifting Through The Lens" is one of the best and most danceable singles in many years - not unlike "Columbian Necktie" from "FLAvour of the Weak" circa 1997. "Laws of Deception" and "Pressure Wave" wreak more havoc with guitar hits and Leeb's mastery of neurotic vox. Then wack! upside the head come two obligatory and opposing tracks. "Afterlife" is an opus with gorgeous bass lines and omg might I say it beautiful vocals. Now the standout track and for many good reasons. Some fans will be either blatantly ecstatic or loathsome for the fact that Al "Alien" Jourgansen who needs no intro has lended his talents to the track "Stupidity". I for one am impressed with the track. It's pissed off and awesomely devoted to the creators of the defunct and sorely missed "Wax Trax" Label. It does capture the feeling of how industrial music back then really was arguous and honest, not pretentous and copious. It really sends a message to the ruiners of the world today that only Al could ala FLA collab. "Downfall" is like the soundtrack from another planet. Not quite as brilliant (in my opinion) as "Endless Void" the nine minute extravaganza from "Shifting Through The Lens" single, but stands on it's own as the physical cd's closer. The new line up is really strong. Live this will be an eventful show! Let's hope they make it a nice long tour and hit us all with their industrial glory. Thanks guys this album really made me fall in love with the genre all over again. FLA is back!!!