Funkadelic ‎– America Eats Its Young

Westbound Records ‎– 2WB 2020
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 You Hit The Nail On The Head
Written-By – C. Haskins*
A2 If You Don't Like The Effects, Don't Produce The Cause
Written-By – G. Shider*
A3 Everybody Is Going To Make It This Time 5:50
B1 A Joyful Process 6:10
B2 We Hurt Too 3:47
B3 Loose Booty
Written-By – H. Beane*
B4 Philmore
Written-By – W. Collins*
C1 Pussy
Written-By – W. Nelson*, E. Hazel*
C2 America Eats Its Young
Written-By – H. Beane*
C3 Biological Speculation
Written-By – E. Harris*
C4 That Was My Girl 3:41
D1 Balance 5:25
D2 Miss Lucifer's Love
Written-By – C. Haskins*
D3 Wake Up
Written-By – J. W. Jackson*

Companies, etc.



1st press includes big poster and some even includes a 12 page booklet
The universal law.
The process-Church of the final judgement.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: 2-WB-2020-A
  • Matrix / Runout: 2-WB-2020-B
  • Matrix / Runout: 2-WB-2020-C
  • Matrix / Runout: 2-WB-2020-D
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side 1 (Etched)): 2-WB-2020-A Mastercraft HC CANADIAN LTD
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side 2 (Etched)): 2-WB-2020-B MHC CANADIAN LTD
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side 3 (Etched)): 2-WB-2020-C MHC CANADIAN LTD
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side 4 (Etched)): 2-WB-2020-D MHC CANADIAN LTD

Other Versions (5 of 29) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
WBCD 772020 Funkadelic America Eats Its Young(CD, Album, RM) Westbound Records WBCD 772020 US 2005 Sell This Version
2WBCD 2020 Funkadelic America Eats Its Young(CD, Album, RE, RM) Westbound Records 2WBCD 2020 US 1991 Sell This Version
4M179 Funkadelic America Eats Its Young(2xLP, Album, RE, 180) 4 Men With Beards 4M179 US 2010 Sell This Version
SEW2 029 Funkadelic America Eats Its Young(2xLP, Album, RE, Gat) Westbound Records SEW2 029 UK & Europe 1991 Sell This Version
CDSEWD 029 Funkadelic America Eats Its Young(CD, Album) Westbound Records CDSEWD 029 UK 1991 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



July 26, 2019
My copy has labels as shown above, but all my runouts also contain "Canadian LTD" and all the other stuff from the 2nd US pressing on file here.


June 23, 2019
edited 8 months ago
Does anybody have the 12 page booklet? Does it really exist? If so any chance they could upload some pictures, I've never seen it!


November 28, 2018
edited about 1 year ago
Often referred to (and even dismissed) by the media over the years as a 'transitional' album, 'America Eats Its Young' certainly cuts a bridge between the previous psychedelic & loose leanings of 'Free Your Mind & Your Ass Will Follow', their self titled second album 'Funkadelic', 'Maggot Brain'; and the chaos that would later ensue with the 1974 funk bomb 'Cosmic Slop'.

It figures, as 1972 itself was wedged smack between the tail-off from 1960's lingering free- rock psychedelia, and the coming wave of new black sounds that solidified in 1974 to offer some of the most definitive funk/soul the pop charts ever saw. Not to say that Funkadelic/Parliament/George Clinton & their expanding/contracting plethora of incredible musicians worked to that linear template; more so they indirectly & culturally informed it.

George C stated that he oversaw the project while being completely free from acid, wanting to see what he could do being straight. On first listen it might sound straighter, or perhaps tighter, than previous leanings; but behind the all American big band disguise lurks a troubled madness, buckling under the strain of the great, clean 70's American persona...